Work Exchange for “Free” Room and Board

Alexus Howze
Black Packers International
3 min readMar 10, 2017

Saving on accommodation costs was one of the ways I was able to extend my travels. I used a website called Workaway to find opportunities exchanging work for room and board.

My first Workaway, I managed a company’s Instagram and online marketing strategy. In exchange, I lived in their family home in Chiang Mai, Thailand. For me, I was gaining international work experience, for a bed and 3 meals a day. Sounded pretty dreamy on paper but, as with anything, results may vary.

There are a few similar websites that offer travelers free accommodation in exchange for work, like HelpX and WWOOF for house sitting. These platforms are gaining popularity as travelers are lured by the promise of free accommodation for anywhere from a week to several months. Travelers are also looking for ways to get a “local experience” which can be a bonus when staying with a host family. Keep in mind you’re always taking a risk when you depend on others. I’ve heard some great reviews and some horror stories.

Workaway is an easy to use website, with a huge searchable host list. Here’s some tips maximize your experience:

Search by Keywords or location. If you have a destination in mind, you can search the exact city, country, or continent you’re heading too. But if your itinerary is more flexible, try searching by skills or interests. There are places seeking skills in everything from animal care to photography. It will bring up opportunities all over the world that can utilize your skill set. Asia, especially, is full of some really awesome Social Justice enterprises building up artisans or sustainable retreats looking for likeminded individuals. I was able to use one of my experiences more like an internship. It was nice to have a bit of structure in my days instead of “just traveling.” I also found the experience more rewarding when my work was rooted in my skills, rather than when I was just making beds or cleaning. Searching the host list is free and there is a small one-time membership fee if you decide you’d like to contact a host.

Communicate with your hosts. I recommend reaching out about 3 months before you plan on arriving, but don’t be deterred; some hosts do accept last minute bookings. Do your research. Read the reviews. I chose to only contact hosts with reviews from other travelers. Ask questions about how many hours a day will be expected of you, and how many days a week. Look at a map, see how far the location is from where you want to be. Some Workaway hosts are a bit away from the tourist areas. Sometimes this can be a blessing in disguise, because you get to explore an area that might not have been on your itinerary. But it could mean that you’re spending extra in transportation to get to the hot spots.

Visualize your experience. Remember, it’s a commitment and you will be expected to hold up your end of a bargain. How long will you be comfortable living in the accommodation? For me, living in a family home environment (curfew, family dinners and dynamics) was only comfortable for a few weeks. Living in a hostel was a great way to make friends but may be too noisy for some.

When I was planning my solo backpacking trip from the states I was unsure of how long my funds would stretch. The added peace of mind having a set location where I would stay and be fed for at least a month, with a human being to keep in touch with was really valuable to me. On the other hand, there was a work exchange I had in Tokyo where I was working 6 days a week for three hours a day. 18 hours a week is essentially a part time job and it would’ve only cost a bit more to pay out of pocket for a monthly accommodation and keep all my free time. Do the math to see what works for you.

Most of my budget goes toward food and accommodation. The more I save on one, the more I can spend on the other. So for me it was worth a try! What do you think? Would you sacrifice your sightseeing hours for a couple hours a work a day in order to save some money? Have you tried in anything like work exchange? Let me know

--

--