Ultimate List of Black Female #VanLifers You Should Know

Nicole Denise
Black Woman Free
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2022

If you’re looking for Black women who live in their cars or vans (on purpose) here’s your list.

Ever since YouTube suggested I watch car dweller vlogs I’ve been hooked. It was early 2020 and I was online looking for an escape from all the pandemic talk. I was yearning to travel, but knew flying was out of the question. People were literally getting stuck places and couldn’t return home during that time. But I was stir crazy. So, I searched for attractions that were still open and I could drive to.

Road trip!

I started with travel destinations near my city. Once a place piqued my interest, “things to do” videos on YouTube was my next stop. The algorithm gods worked their magic and I was served my very first van lifer video. I’d never heard of people choosing to live in their cars as a lifestyle decision. My first encounter was watching a white guy somewhere in below freezing temperatures in mounds of snow. I was fascinated yet confused. What would possess someone to live in their car in sub zero temperatures? He was so happy, though. But I chalked it up to YT people being YT people.

Then YouTube put their game down, flipped it then reversed it.

Next up was a black woman who lived in her car. That was it, down the rabbit hole I went. Here are all the Black women I’ve discovered, and you should know if #VanLife is your jam.

Jasmine

I will always have a special place in my heart for Jasmine and her channel Vibrant Peace. She was the first Black female car dweller I’d ever watched. When I (virtually) met her she’d quit her job. Then I binged all her videos and now I’m up to date on her life after tiny house living adventures.

Tiffany

I came across Tiffany’s channel from her cooking vlogs. She’d whip up the most extravagant meals from her RV. Then I stayed along for the ride as she explored different national parks.

Antoinette Yvonne

Antoinette and her van Zion came into my life when I was looking to see a more luxe side of van life adventures. And baby, I found it! My favorite vlogs are the ones featuring Antoinette’s mom who is hilarious.

Jennelle Eliana

Jenelle’s channel was a YouTube suggestion. Her videos had millions of views and I wanted to see who this woman was. I was hooked after I met her travel mate and pet snake, Alfredo!

Candyss Love

If I were to conjure up an image of Mother Earth, Candyss Love is her. If you’re looking for a holistically BLACK way to live, she is the guide for you.

Brittany

The first video I ever watched was Brittany sharing her story of overcoming a gambling addiction. Ever since then, I’ve been following her van life travel escapades. Plus her converted school bus, home on wheels is EV👏🏾ER👏🏾Y👏🏾THING👏🏾!

Nate

Nate aka MotherNATEur is a comedian who happens to live in her car (and van). She’s hilarious! And you’ve got to see how she’s decked out her storage unit.

Here are other articles I've written on Black female #vanlife.

--

--

Nicole Denise
Black Woman Free

Writer. Author. Content Creator. Intellectual. Feeler. All Black Everything.