Women’s History Month

Angle Bush
Black Women In Artificial Intelligence
3 min readMar 8, 2022

HERStory — Black Women In Artificial Intelligence

It was just a regular day in 2019, I registered to attend an Internet Of Things event in Houston, Texas. I had ideas of how to create a better robot and how to improve upon an idea for a prototype that I was creating.

As I entered the room, I was excited about the possibilities of what I would learn that day, the experts that I would have the opportunity to meet, the ideas I would share. Unbeknownst to me, that was not the purpose of my attending this event.

I looked around, did a quick scan of the room and unfortunately I did not see a full reflection of myself. I did not see a full reflection of the diversity that would be necessary to ensure access and opportunity for Black Women in the tech space. Again this was not the purpose of my attending the event but my observations led me to this conclusion.

As the day went on I continued to hear Artificial Intelligence is the 4th Industrial Revolution and it was then that I said to myself, “You cannot have a revolution without Black Women.”

“You cannot have a revolution without Black Women.” Angle Bush

It was in that moment that I decided to do something about it to ensure that we were not only in the room but that we had access and opportunity in this space. So I began the journey to create an organization focused on the vision to Educate, Engage, Embrace, and Empower Black Women in the Artificial Intelligence sector. On this journey I was able to see how all of my previous experiences led me to this place. This place of being vulnerable, this place of being strong, this place of being confident, this place of being more than enough.

I discovered that I was not alone, that there were many women who wanted a place to call their own. A place where they could learn and grow and teach. A place where they could feel safe to discuss what was happening in their world and more importantly needed a place where they could be celebrated and feel good about it.

Black Women In Artificial Intelligence © has allowed me to be in the company of my sisters, women that are intelligent, supportive, understanding, and ready to change the landscape of tech. Women who understand the assignment and who not only know the vision but trust the vision.

And now we stand, Black Women In Artificial Intelligence©, a global organization, with amazing members on four continents, dynamic partnerships and an opportunity to change the world.

It all started with one thought, one step, one belief that it was not only important but it was NECESSARY.

Necessary that we see ourselves in this space.

Necessary that we have an opportunity to create generational wealth.

Necessary that we are in the room when the algorithm is being created so that we can not only mitigate but eliminate the harm that may be reproduced based on bias, historical data, and the lack of awareness of our stories and experiences.

Necessary. Not just for Women’s History Month… But Every Day.

--

--

Angle Bush
Black Women In Artificial Intelligence

Founder — Black Women In Artificial Intelligence -Educate-Engage-Embrace-Empower @blackwomeninai www.blackwomeninai.com