Black Women CAN Grow Long Hair

Here’s how I did it

Destiny S. Harris
Black Women

--

Photo by Vladimir Yelizarov on Unsplash

Depending on how you manipulate and treat it, it might take longer than our 1–3 hair type people to grow our hair, but it’s 100% possible for black women to have long hair. Frequently our hair is longer than we think anyway due to shrinkage.

Long hair on black women could be normalized if we didn’t flood our heads hair with too many products, chemicals, and manipulation.

Long hair doesn’t require “good genetics [which is a whole different problem]” or a mixed background. Long hair is entirely up to how you manage your hair.

I’ve Always Had Long Hair

Long hair has always been my situation, and I’ve received the following questions several times:

  • “Are you all black?”
  • “Did you add some hair into yours?”
  • “Is that all of your hair? That can’t be all of yours.”
  • “You must have something else in your genes, right?”

Yes, all the hair in my pictures is 100% mine, and here’s how I’ve done it.

How I’ve Managed To Maintain Long Hair

If you’ve read some of my other articles, you’ll see that I have worn protective styles my entire life. The last time I…

--

--