Honest review of Creative South — Blackairplane — Branding and Responsive Web Design

John Howard
Blackairplane
Published in
4 min readApr 14, 2015

So, I just returned from Creative South. Last year (wow… just found out it was 2013, not last year) I got a free ticket from hunie.co and had a last minute emergency and had to pass on the conference. I guess last year was just a blur because I have no idea why I didn’t attend. Hunie.co and Mike Jones were kind enough to find someone else to take my ticket –

This year, in the classy way I do things, I again forgot to register for the conference. I went to the site to register on a Friday and found out that registration was closed. I was preparing to go out of town with the family (to Destin) so my work week was slammed. Thanks to Ben Stafford for keeping at me at making the trek and for Mike Jones & Jay Owen for making sure I had a ticket this time. Next year guys I am buying early!

So, lets get into the conference. I didn’t get to attend any workshops due to my prior trip ending on Thursday but I heard they were amazing. I love hands on anything. I got seated with a designer friend (Shaun Moynihan) and his group early Friday morning (made it with 5 minutes to spare) in the venue (the opera house is beautiful) and had no idea what to expect. Things started later than scheduled, but everyone was so encouraged to mingle and meet someone new that it gave me a few minutes to get my bearings before diving right into 3 back to back speakers.

Speakers

The speakers were incredible. There were a few notable (mini-celeb designers) that I had heard of but in at least my experience the most profound speakers were the ones I had never heard of. I kept glancing at the schedule on my phone (very convenient btw) looking to see who was coming up next only to see it was usually someone that I had to research. I LOVE that. It was so encouraging to see these designers who kept saying ‘I have no idea why I was chosen to be on this stage talking to you’ telling their humble stories and make or break points of when they might have felt they had ‘finally made it’. Some of these same speakers had you on the verge of letting tears come out of your face. I have to mention, at the point in which a designer named Lenny Terenzi showed his transformation picture from a cute kid to an awkward teen (lenny, I can so relate) I burst out laughing. Had I had a drink in my mouth it would have been spit all over the people in front of me. Thank God for no drinks and for his talk. Truly humble and gifted guy.

Atmosphere

I tended to stay by myself most of the conference except for a few conversations here and there. I heard this from both people on stage and other people I knew, that the first year is kind of like that. You are just taking everything in. Next year I’ll hopefully immerse myself a little more with you guys and gals. The atmosphere seemed to lean to where this could really be easy. I constantly saw groups within groups having conversations, people meeting for the first time, and just a genuine friendly feel. I didn’t feel that same ‘hey I am a known designer, I am uppity’ feeling that I have gotten from other conferences in the past. It felt genuine, and that feeling I have learned in my meager 31 years is not something that can be conjured up or fabricated. It was great.

Takeaways

Through all the speakers, my experiences, my one on one conversations and just genuine excitement each night when I left the venue, it left me refreshed. Did I have some epiphany during the conference, or learn some new skill that can be life-changing? Honestly, no. However, I did leave with a new feeling of wonder and excitement towards this ever-changing world of design.

Mike Jones

Lastly, a shoutout to Mike Jones. I first just approached him to thank him for getting me a ticket. However, after seeing him open up Friday morning with a little tremor in his voice talking about Jesus I wanted to encourage him. I didn’t know if he needed it, but I know that feeling and weight of sharing Jesus with people that may or may not wanna hear it. Hats off brother, and look forward to our hangout soon.

Here’s to next year. If you guys or gals are ever up in Atlanta and wanna grab lunch on me, hit me up and we’ll make it happen!

Originally published at blackairplane.com on April 14, 2015.

--

--

John Howard
Blackairplane

I love Jesus, my wife, and my two kids. I drum and design. Founder of @blackairplane http://blackairplane.com