Design: Patti Andrews

Spotlight On: Isobel Clarkson Director Of Operations at Propeller Aero

Blackbird’s monthly chat with talented leaders and rising stars in our community.

Dani Pinkus
Published in
2 min readFeb 4, 2020

--

Propeller Aero’s Director of Operations, Isobel studied business in the UK, before starting her career as a management consultant in corporate. When Isobel made a move to Australia, she was introduced to Propeller Aero co-founders Rory and Francis by a friend at Canva. The rest is history.

Isobel on her role and why she chose startups over corporate.

Blackbird: What’s the main difference between corporate and startups?

Isobel: “When you work for big companies it’s hard to see the impact you’re having. The company won’t live or die by your contribution. I feel like if I don’t show up to Propeller, it makes a difference. It’s nice to know you’re having an impact.”

B: Where have you made the biggest impact in your role?

I: “Definitely our formalised hiring process. The earlier startups can get serious about who they hire and how they hire the better.”

B: What do you love most about your role?

I: “When I was a consultant, I always had to put a face on. If I made a mistake, I’d try and find the solution before I told anyone. Coming here, I never hide it. You can make a mistake and people are still on your side.”

B: One piece of startup advice?

I: “Plug the gaps as quickly as possible!”

Explore opportunities at Propeller Aero here.

This interview is an excerpt from our Blackbird Monthly newsletter. 📭 Want this update delivered to your inbox? Subscribe here.

--

--