The Past Two Weeks

Corey Harris
Blackchain Voice
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2019

These past two weeks have been a busy time for me. I joined Mixmax as an SMB Account Executive, went on two vacations, and met a bunch of cool and smart people along the way. I am going through a transition planning my life around my 9–5. This all is both fun, exciting, and energy extensive at the same time. I will continue to publish this weekly newsletter discussing global blockchain regulation. I can’t thank you all enough for the support!

There are 3 things I will ask of you:

1. If you work in a customer-facing role-use Gmail, and interested in seeing how Mixmax can help you drive sales efficiency book some time on my calendar here

2. If you know any writers or content creators who would like to contribute to our newsletter introduce them to us via email, blackchchaingroup@gmail.com,

3. Every third Friday month, we host Hip-N-Paint and Tech Trap House, at Node-1011 Kearny Street San Francisco, CA 94133. Join Us! Use the code “WeMadeIt” to get 50% off the Gold ticket

The past two weeks have seen some interesting events occur, but I will focus on two events which have given me the most pause to think. The SEC going after Bitifinex and Tether and a16z raising a $750 million crypto fund. But first let’s dig into Bitifinex and Tether lawsuit: First off, seasoned blockchain enthusiats have always seen Tether as “suspect” as they never proved beyond a reasonable doubt that they held an equal amount of fiat (USD) cash to their stablecoin’s total market capitalization. In their lawsuit, it is alleged that Bitifinex made a couple of illegal transactions to cover up major financial loses felt because of the crypto winter.

A16z has just completed another fundraise of 2.75 billion, with $750 Million going towards their crypto fund. Last month, they changed their status to being a “financial advisor” to be able to fund more crypto projects across the globe. I view this as significant because other VC funds with a similar amount of capital resources and interest in crypto will move towards this legal structure to support their investment strategies. a16z changing its status to a “financial advisory” is more expensive than being a typical “VC” certification but my guess is it adds to their moat. We shall see!

Click here to continue reading the rest of our weekly newsletter.

Click Here to Join Weekly Newsletter

--

--