Metamorph

Soharni Tennekoon
Blackdog Movement
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2021

What a pandemic. It’s an understatement to say it’s been a tough one. For everyone. For me, it’s been devastating to my mental health. The repeated, ad hoc lockdowns, the financial fears, and not having a reprieve or an end in sight has taken its toll on me, which has bled out into other aspects of my life.

I’ve been incredibly lucky though too. To have a strong support system (particularly my husband and my parents), people who have assumed the extra pressure of supporting and caring for me when I’ve fallen apart. And for this I owe them a lifetime of gratitude.

But the buck stops with me. Now that the chemical management is under control and I’ve reached a point where I can see the woods for the trees, the real work starts. The deconstruction. Looking into me. Who am I ? Outside of being a wife, mother, capitalist drone? Who do I want to be? Do these things align? How do I attain happiness in my daily life? So far, I’m still on step 2. It’s tough as hell. But the only way out is through. Cognitive Behavioral Therapy with my extremely amazing therapist, plus Yoga have been manifestly helpful in giving me the tools to digging deep. I know I’ll find my way eventually but right now it all seems daunting and never ending. But I’m grateful for every second of introspection I’ve been granted.

What challenges have the pandemic brought you? Has it made you grow in some way?

📷 @softlytaxidermy

--

--

Soharni Tennekoon
Blackdog Movement

Canine behaviourist researching free roaming dog ethology & welfare. Dog nerd writing about dogs, movement, mindfulness & mental health