Finding that sweet spot

Soharni Tennekoon
Blackdog Movement
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2021

I sometimes zone out and get lost in the little things, like a shadow on a chair. I’ve learnt then to snap out of it and cajole myself to focus on something more ‘productive’. But why? I’m relearning that what’s cooler still is realizing you’re enjoying the little things and bringing your full attention to it. Just letting go and letting yourself be in the small things that bring you joy. Even if just for a moment. Have a try. 🤍

Similarly, the trick is to find joy in the mundane things, and to do this, I think is to be mindful in whatever task or job you do. Let’s say making the bed in the mornings; instead of cursing under my breath about all the things I need to do before I even sip my morning java, I’m now trying a different approach. ~ Whatever you do find the joy in it ~ And I find being mindful really helps with this. Just being in the moment, rearranging the duvet, dusting off errant dog hairs, fluffing the pillows, smoothing out the creases, folding back the top of the duvet, all of it. Just being in the actions, enjoying the simple process. Makes it less of a chore and more of a pleasant experience. No harm in that.

--

--

Soharni Tennekoon
Blackdog Movement

Canine behaviourist researching free roaming dog ethology & welfare. Dog nerd writing about dogs, movement, mindfulness & mental health