What To Do When You Can’t Find Time To Write

D.C Memoir
Blackened Thoughts
Published in
5 min readAug 4, 2018

As I wake up at 5:30 in the morning, with my son and girlfriend sleep in bed, I’m debating what I should write about. It can be hard for aspiring writers to find the time they need to write, myself included. After graduating in December, I’m just starting my first full time job meaning all the time I used to have and use for writing has seemed to disappear.

I’ve tried different methods of staying up late after everyone else is sleep, sneaking little 15 minute periods of work in here or there, and now, of course, waking up early to put my words down. The question that we all want to know the answer to is simple: How can I find the time to write when it seems like I have no time?

While the answer is not at all absolute, not at all simple, there is some help for how to get what you need to do done. That way work, life, or whatever you may have, won’t turn into an excuse as to why your current project will never be finished.

Here are 5 tips for making time to write when you have no time to spare.

1. First Things First

If writing this next story is top of mind, then it should also be the first thing you do. It’s not easy, trust me, I’m still tired. But the truth is, it was easier for me to get out of my bed at 5:30 this morning than most days at 6:30. My body actually woke up around 5am, worried that I missed my alarm, simply because everything in me wants to have time to write.

As daunting as an hour of lost sleep may seem, especially if you see yourself as a night person like me, it’s worth it. One thing I’ve always known is I start my days off happier and more energetic when I’ve had a chance to write first. Why? Because I’ve checked off the main thing that I wanted to do today. Not that my boss wanted me to do, nor anyone else, just me.

2. Count the Seconds and Minutes

There is gold hidden in the in-between time of your day. Think of all the things related to writing that you still must do after you write. Whether that editing finished stories, plotting current stories, finding contests to submit to, reading works for critique partners, or simply running your social media account. There is a lot to do as a writer. A precious key is to keep these from becoming interferences with your writing time.

Although lunch at work is often used to unwind, its also a great time for social media management, a task that although meticulous, it’s too stressful. While I’m cooking dinner every night, that’s a great time for irregular tasks like looking for magazines and contest to submit to. I don’t need to work continuously to find them, so having to leave often is okay for that type of task. Lastly, the bathroom is always a good chance to catch up on your critique partners writings. So whatever you do, make those seconds and minutes count.

3. Tunnel Vision

There is only so much a person can juggle. Some of us can juggle more than others, but that doesn’t always mean we should either. One less ball to juggle can make everything a little bit smoother. So, narrow your focus. This goes as much for writing as what you do outside of writing.

When it comes to writing, every writer has to accept that every story they want to write won’t get written, yet some will still see the little time they have and try to have too many projects going on at once. Currently, I’m working on a novella, but writing short stories as well. The first 14–15 days of every month are spent focusing on a short story that will help expand my skills, while the end of the month is spent solely on my novella. Is this too much to handle? At times I believe it may be. But I understand that if I need to drop a ball, the short stories will be put on hiatus. At the same time, I also recognize how I use the short stories to propel my writing skills further and help me write a better novella. Every ball I juggle must have a purpose when choosing what to take on.

Outside of writing, tunnel vision is needed too. How much time passes by where you truly aren’t being productive? I’m not going to tell anyone, “If this is what you really want, give up all tv time and remove entertainment from your life.” No. But make it purposeful. There are times after work where I just want to watch something funny and stupid, I also need to. It’s called balance. It’s good for you. But after one episode or two, do I really need to keep watching? No. If I still somehow have time to myself, it’s time to work. Yes, you need free time, but how much do you need?

Your writing is worth the time. You just have to give it the time it needs. Follow me on Medium or visit BlackenedThoughts.com/ to stay up to date on my latest blogs. Click here for my poetry, short stories, and memoirs. Thank you for joining me, now go write!

The Delphic Memior

Originally finding success with slam poetry, Memoir now has expanded into short stories, fiction, and non-fiction. Building off his experiences with depression and anxiety Memoir looks to share and heal.

If you like this piece please do clap 👏 and comment!

Follow Me on Facebook: D.C Memoir

Enjoy this article? Check out some other pieces:

--

--

D.C Memoir
Blackened Thoughts

What does it mean to be a storyteller? Who will you tell stories about? Probably someone indistinct, someone not too different from you.