The Dream by Giacomo Leopardi

Blacklisted Mediation
Blacklisted Media
Published in
4 min readJun 4, 2024
Giacomo Leopardi morente

It was dawn, the sun insinuated

the day’s first light through the balcony’s

closed shutters to my blind room.

In that moment, when sleep shadows

our eyelids more lightly, more gently,

the image of her who first taught me

to love, then left me to grieve,

stood there, next to me, gazing at my face.

She didn’t seem dead, only saddened,

an image of unhappiness. She stretched

her right hand to my cheek, and sighing said:

‘Do you still live, and retain any memory

of me?’ ‘Oh my dear,’ I replied, ‘Where

and how do you come to me, in beauty?

Ah, how I grieved for you, and grieve:

I thought you would never know: and

it made my grief for you more desolate.

But will you leave me again?

I greatly fear it. Now say what happened?

Are you as before? And what torments you

within?’ She said: ‘Forgetfulness stifles

your thoughts, sleep enshrouds them.

I am dead, a few moons ago

you saw me for the last time.’ Vast

sorrow oppressed my heart at that voice.

She said: ‘I vanished in the first flower of youth,

when life is sweetest, and before the heart

knows the vanity of human hope

as certain. Mortal sickness has not long

to wait for what will free it

from all trouble: but the young gain no

solace in death, and cruel is our fate

when hope is quenched beneath earth.

Knowledge of what nature hides is no help

to those innocent of life, and blind grief

easily conquers an immature wisdom.’

‘Oh dear unfortunate one, be silent,’ I said,

‘be silent, such words break my heart.

Oh my delight, you are dead then,

and I am living, and was it decreed

in heaven that your dear and tender body

should endure those last sweats,

while this wretched one of mine

should be untouched? Oh despite those

moments when I thought you no longer lived,

that I would never see you again in this world,

I still cannot believe. Ah, what is this thing

called death? If only I could know,

now, and so protect my defenceless

head from fate’s atrocious hatred.

I am young, but this youth of mine

consumes itself and is lost like old-age

I dread, though it’s still far from me.

The flower of my youth is little

different to age.’ She said: ‘We were

born to weep, we two, happiness never

smiled on our lives: heaven delighted

in our troubles.’ ‘Now if this eyelid is wet

with tears,’ I replied, ‘and our parting

makes your face pale, and your heart

heavy with anguish, tell me: did a spark

of love, or pity, ever turn your heart

towards this wretched lover,

while you lived? Then, I despaired,

but dragged myself, in hope, through days

and nights: now my mind wearies itself

with empty doubt. So if sorrow at my

darkened life, even once, oppressed you,

don’t hide it, I beg you, and the memory

will help me, now our future has been

taken from us.’ She said: ‘O unhappy one,

be comforted. I did not grudge you pity

while I was alive, nor now: I was

wretched too. Do not complain

of it, unlucky child.’ I cried out:

‘In the name of our misfortunes,

and the love that destroys me, of our

delighted youth, and the lost hopes

of our life, allow me, my dear one,

to touch your hand.’ And she, sadly,

gently, held it out to me. Now, as I

covered it with kisses, and held it

to my heaving breast, trembling with

sweet distress, my face and chest

sweating with fever, my voice caught

in my throat, my vision shook in the light.

Then, fixing her gaze on me, tenderly,

she said: ‘Oh my dear, have you forgotten

already, that I am stripped of beauty?

O, unhappy one, you tremble and burn

with love, in vain. Now is the last farewell.

Our wretched minds and bodies

are severed for eternity. You are not living

for me, nor will again: fate has already shattered

the loyalty you promised.’ Then I tried

to cry out in agony, and roused myself

from sleep, trembling, my eyes

filled with disconsolate tears. She still

stood before my gaze: and in the uncertain

rays of the sun, I believed I saw her yet.

^

Count Giacomo Taldegardo Francesco di Sales Saverio Pietro Leopardi was an Italian philosopher, poet, essayist, and philologist.

--

--