Boost up your elixir by

10 Killer Elixir Tips #8

Do the things every day, you will find better

Malreddy Ankanna
blackode
Published in
9 min readNov 14, 2018

--

Hey guys!
Welcome back to another set of killer elixir tips.

Check out the previous articles of this series
Killer Elixir Tips#1 #2 #3 #4 #5 #6 #7

I am using the following development stack at the moment of writing this article.

Hex:    0.18.1
Elixir: 1.7.3
OTP: 21.1.1

1— Replacing a Key in Map

I know, you might be thinking why some one would do that. I too had the same feeling until I met with a requirement in one of my previous projects where I was asked to replace address1 with address and some other keys as well. It is a huge one. I have to do change many keys as well.

I’m here with a simple map to keep it understandable. But, the technique is same.

The thing to remember is; be smart and stay long;

details = %{name: "john", address1: "heaven", mobile1: "999999999"}

The above map comprises of two weird keys address1 and mobile1 where we do workout on to take over them.

iex> details = %{name: "john", address1: "heaven", mobile1…

--

--

Malreddy Ankanna
blackode

Programmer & Writer, I write about coding, thoughts, ideas, personal musings, technical articles, and tutorials.https://bio.link/blackode