Bobby Huntley Talks La Vie Magnifique de Charlie

Yasmin Shiraz
Black TV Film Crew
Published in
3 min readSep 11, 2017
Writer / Director Bobby Huntley

Bobby Huntley is the Director, Co-Writer and Co-Producer of the new coming of age feature film, La Vie Magnifique de Charlie which is affectionately known in social media as #TheCharlieMovie. Shot over seven weekends in Atlanta, GA with no budget, Huntley’s backstory is one of passion, persistence and motivation.

ABOUT LA VIE MAGNIFIQUE DE CHARLIE

After her sister Brandy’s untimely death, everyone is taken aback by Charlie’s unorthodox (and seemingly chipper) approach to her grieving process. Follow Charlie and her friends Kayla and Keturah as they go along for a wild, hilariously exhilarating and bittersweet ride — which will surely be the craziest day of Charlie’s life. Charlie was filmed over seven jam-packed weekends in Atlanta, GA, with very little to no budget. The talented cast and crew joined together to create this visually vibrant story for the screen.

How did you get started as a filmmaker?
I started at age 10. I randomly asked my Dad for a video camera. When I was in school, I’d bring whatever I shot with my cousins the previous weekend. On Fridays, we’d screen those in class and I’d do reenactments on different historical things. For class projects, I’d turn in a short video instead of a report. It was a way for me to express my creativity. My teachers saw I was a real creative person so they allowed me to express that.

What inspired you to direct, co-write and co-produce the Charlie Movie?
I wanted to challenge myself. I wanted to do a story of women that doesn’t center around men. I’ve always been intrigued by black women. This was a way for me to explore that. It gave me some insight. I wanted to challenge the things that we were seeing in the media.

What life experience has changed you or shaped your work?
I saw the Nina Simone documentary and she had a clip in there where she said, “As an artist you must reflect the times in your work.” Before watching the documentary, I would do these things that didn’t mean anything. But, from that moment on, I decided my work must mean something, so that it can impact people.

As a black man, why did you do the Charlie film?
It’s really my love letter for black women. There’s a real campaign for black women to feel better about themselves. Black women in the media are taking control of the conversation. I love the hashtags black women have created. I love #blackgirlmagic. Black women are taking control of the conversation and reclaiming it if you will. I just wanted to give them something they could appreciate.

Do Something That Matters.

Bobby Huntley

This fall look for La Vie Magnifique de Charlie on tour in a city near you. Check the trailer . To follow the movie, check out @thecharliemovie in all social media.

To connect with Bobby, please check him out at the following links:

Website: www.thecharliemovie.net
Instagram Handle: @bhuntleyfilms

Originally published at blacktvfilmcrew.com on September 11, 2017.

--

--

Yasmin Shiraz
Black TV Film Crew

Writer | Serial Entrepreneur | Author of Retaliation, Blueprint for My Girls, Exclusive and more… https://yasminshiraz.net/blog