Blacxellence — Charlie Dark

Nathaniel Aaron Cole
Blacxellence
Published in
2 min readOct 31, 2017
image by James Carnegie

This is the final write up of what as been an eye-opening, heartwarming series for me. When I started this project, I wondered if I would be able to actually do it, I wondered if I would find enough people, but the reality is that there’s a plethora of talented Black creatives and activists to choose from so Blacxellence is just getting started.

So, ladies and gentlemen, let me present to you, the original Don Dada, Charlie Dark.

I met Charlie six years ago on the Run Dem Crew Youngers project. He called me up while I was in my bedroom on my iMac and shouted at me to tell me that I was on the project, “ok” I replied, not knowing that it would change my life forever. We spent a summer training together, forming friendships and challenging ourselves. It was the first time I got to be around adults that weren’t family and it really opened up my world to the creative industry and expansive thinking. I have Charlie and all of my mentors to thank for that.

It has brought me together with so many different types of people, plenty of whom featured as part of this project.

Charlie has been nothing short of amazing to me during the time that I have known him. He is not only a friend but a father to me when the time calls for it. He has given me and a ridiculous number of people so much joy and happiness with his work that he probably doesn’t see as work. Run Dem Crew has given people new lives, goals, holidays, jobs (at least four for me), relationships, families, everything. I could write all day about what Charlie has helped me achieve and shown me and wouldn’t even scratch the surface of his impact in my life.

I honestly don’t know where I would be in life without Charlie and I know that I am not alone when I say that.

Charlie has given young and at-risk people an outlet for them to express themselves free of fear and judgement, he has helped to empower and challenge these people so that they achieve amazing things and I am so thankful for that.

Charlie is a creative. Charlie is a leader. Charlie is a champion. Charlie is a teacher. Charlie is a motivator. Charlie is a friend. Charlie is a Father.

Charlie is what Blacxellence is to the core.

Thank you for everything, Charlie.

Want to support or work with Charlie? Get in touch.

--

--

Nathaniel Aaron Cole
Blacxellence

I'm a writer/workshop facilitator/co-founder/researcher from East London. I talk about my Mental Health and self development…a lot