Blacxellence — Sanchia Legister

Nathaniel Aaron Cole
Blacxellence
Published in
2 min readOct 30, 2017

You are looking at the best Yoga teacher in the world. Well, she is to me anyway. Let me explain why Sanchia Legister is great.

I met Sanchia many moons ago in a park in East London, working out while shouting and sweating a lot. Then we started running together. Then we started swimming together. Now, we do yoga together. To be honest, she does the yoga and I try my best to copy it.

Sanchia has given me a connection with my body that I didn’t know was possible, and that’s why I say that she’s the best Yoga teacher in the world. She is attentive, caring, honest and professional in her practice. When you enter her Yogahood space, your ears are greeted by the dulcet tones of Solange Knowles, Sampha or James Blake, this isn’t a normal practice. Sanchia breaks down poses after reciting their names in Sanskrit and has a wonderful way of making the most complicated twists and transitions feel simple and natural.

She has a real gift.

I have only ever felt comfortable at Yogahood, an inclusive space with a diverse mixture of people of all creeds and genders. When I’ve tried yoga classes before, I was often the only young black man in attendance, at Yogahood, I’m one of many. Yogahood is special because it speaks to vulnerable and at risk people in a way that isn’t patronising, it’s accepting of them and opens up the world of yoga beyond what we see in the media. Yogahood is very much needed in the world today and I am so thankful for it.

Sanchia also runs Gyalflex with Holiday Phillips, a monthly event that blends yoga, meditation and hip hop, it’s an event that will recharge your mind, body and soul.

Sanchia, thank you for your guidance through yoga and life, you are so special.

Want to work with Sanchia? Get in touch.

--

--

Nathaniel Aaron Cole
Blacxellence

I'm a writer/workshop facilitator/co-founder/researcher from East London. I talk about my Mental Health and self development…a lot