Going Viral — 6 Lessons from My Article That Got 134,000 Views

Eve Arnold
Blank Page
Published in
11 min readJan 13, 2021

--

500 views.

That’s how many views I’d expect to see in an average week on my 127 (ish) articles. Yep, 500. A modest number. A respectable, slow-burning, but a none-the-less encouraging number. Yet, in the last 7 days, I’ve had 134,000 views. No, I’ve not accidentally added an extra zero to that number. It’s a 22,000% increase.

So I thought, as I more frequently do these days, ‘this would make a good story’…

‘Viral’ is a word we are all far too familiar with. Luckily for me, this was the good sense of viral, this was the sense of virality that we all seem to chase. 7 days ago things got a little weird. I mean really weird.

“All you need in this life is ignorance and confidence; then success is sure. ”― Mark Twain

Recently I’d gotten out of the bad habit of checking my stats obsessively. I’d made a pact with myself and well, myself. “Checking stats is bad Eve, it never ends well so just stop it”. So after a few stern words with myself, I’d stopped. Weeks had passed and I hadn’t checked my stats. Happiness, I thought.

And then I did it, I checked my stats. Amazed and confused I pressed refresh. Surely something has gone wrong here must be a glitch

--

--