I Took on Student Debt to Get a Degree in Creative Writing; Here’s Why I Don’t Regret It

So I have a Bachelor’s degree in Creative Writing…

Margery Bayne
Blank Page

--

Photo by MD Duran on Unsplash

Guess who’s the poster child for a millennial who got a “useless” humanities degree and then graduated into an economic depression only to be underemployed for the next several years that followed?

Did you guess me? Because the answer is me.

Here I am saying it against all the naysayers and Facebook memes and the talking heads on cable news and all those complaining that I’m ruined because of all the participation trophies that I supposedly got (that I never actually got)… I took on student debt to get an undergraduate degree in creative writing and I don’t regret it.

Back it up…

Got to cop to some roughly middle-class financial privilege before I go any further. My parents were able to help with part of my tuition so I didn’t go into as much debt as I could’ve. I also had the financial and physical safety to live with them after college while I got my career feet under me and focused on using extra funds to pay down my debt fast. I get that not all people have that and this is not me trying to tell all of you to go get your dream degree despite the financial burden.

--

--

Margery Bayne
Blank Page

Margery Bayne (she/her) is a librarian by day and a writer by night. Find more at www.margerybayne.com.