Losing a Client: How to Handle the Disappointment

I lost my biggest client six weeks before my first baby is due. Here’s my plan.

Tiffany Verbeck
Blank Page

--

Photo by Wayan Parmana on Unsplash

This post is an offshoot of the most recent Fun Work podcast episode on losing a client. For more helpful advice, listen to the full episode here.

If you lost a freelancing client, especially a lucrative one, you might feel a bit hopeless. I’m there with you — my biggest freelance client decided to stop publishing to their blog. They don’t need freelance writers anymore. And it’s six weeks before my first baby is due.

Before we all freak out, let’s think through this logically to figure out a plan of action.

Losing a Freelancing Client: A Scenario

I had planned to come back to this client after I took some time off for maternity leave. It was my most steady, and best paid, work. But now it’s halting its blog publication. So they won’t need writers. And I don’t get to work for them anymore.

At the same time, my editing clients are getting passed on to other editors before I leave. Therefore, I will have to start from scratch on re-building my client base when I’m back from babyland.

That’s pretty scary.

How I Plan to Handle…

--

--

Tiffany Verbeck
Blank Page

Tiffany Verbeck uses her awesome storytelling skills gained from a master’s degree to write on personal finance, lifestyle, and creativity: tiffanyverbeck.com.