Love and Perfection

Janni Lee Simner
Blank Page
Published in
3 min readDec 17, 2020

--

“We love the things we love for what they are.”

That’s from Robert Frost’s “Hyla Brook.”

Variations on the line had been bouncing around in my head for a while before my husband and fellow writer, Larry Hammer, reminded me where it came from.

I’d been thinking about Frost (without knowing it was Frost I was thinking about) because I’d been thinking about how once we reach a certain basic level of craft, writing is no longer about avoiding mistakes or carefully not doing anything wrong.

It’s about the things we do right.

No one ever loved a book, after all, simply for not making any mistakes, for all that there are (varied, individual) things that can throw each of us out of a story. But we don’t love a story just because we aren’t thrown out of it, either.

We love books for what they do, not for what they manage not to do. We love them for the thing or things that hit each of our particular story buttons, that reach out to bridge the gap between story and reader, that pull on us and make us want to or need to read on. A flawed book that does the things it does very right is far more powerful than an unflawed book that doesn’t.

None of my favorite books-the books I imprinted on as a child and teen, the books that have remained touchstones for me throughout my life-is perfect. I can see that clearly enough when I look at those books as a writer focused on craft-and that has never once stopped me from returning to those books…

--

--

Janni Lee Simner
Blank Page

Novelist = Creator of impossible worlds. Blogger = Trying to understand and improve the possible world we humans share. https://www.simner.com/fiction/