Starting Your Humor Writing Journey One Trashy Step at a Time!

Catherine Weingarten
Blank Page
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2020

--

(Her nails look so edgy i love!) Photo Credit: Lisa Fotios from Pexel

I have been writing humor for about 2/3ish years now and have had my work published in lots of baller sites across the web like McSweeney’s, Weekly Humorist, Flexx and others. I am writing this because wanted to share some trashy things I learned along the way and I also just a bit too into giving advice.

If you’re curious about humor writing, I say go for it!! For me humor writing has been a wonderful outlet to make friends, work on my comedic chops and put myself out there as a writer. Also it’s a field that says “yes, and” to your trashy instincts! What other field lets you write an odd piece about a pop-tart spa.

Here are some tips if you’re a mini humor writer and unsure where to start:

  1. Educate yo self!- Learn from people who are good at it! Online short form humor has very specific forms(quiz, list, monologue etc) that you can learn through alotttaaaa practice. I highly recommend Second City Satire Writing for the Web program which was started by Caitlin Kunkel, a comedy goddess who has been published in the New Yorker and elsewhere. That program has three levels and really helped me get the comedic tools to write and submit to places on my own and also a great social network. I also am a big fan of Catapult’s humor writing program, where you can study with the too funny to deal…

--

--

Catherine Weingarten
Blank Page

Catherine Weingarten is a humor writer, playwright and wedding cake enthusiast.