3 Self-Reflection Tools From Elizabeth Gilbert to Unleash Your Creativity

Apply these to live your creative life to the fullest

Clément Bourcart
Blank Page

--

As a creative person, I can often feel stuck in the creative process.

Sometimes I’m unsure where to begin, struggle to find the time to get going, or simply, I just can’t overcome my own doubts.

Despite tons of obstacles in the way, I’ve found the techniques used by best-selling author Elizabeth Gilbert really helpful in unblocking me when I get stuck.

Here are 3 ways she suggests to live your best creative life, that will help get rid of what’s holding you back allowing you to step onto the braver path of creative living.

1. Write a letter to your fear

The first tool Gilbert talks about is a letter addressed to your fear.

The exercise goes as follows. Pull out your pen, and:

  • Write a letter as if your fear was speaking. Start it with “Dear [Your Name]”, and go on to describing all the fears welling up inside of you right now. List out those fearful thoughts and emotions that have been holding you back (until now).
  • Write a response to your fear. This time, start the letter with “Dear Fear”. Whilst accepting it as…

--

--

Clément Bourcart
Blank Page

Business Consultant, Growth Marketer, Project and Product Manager, Copywriter // AIForBusinesses.com 🤖