When Menopause Caused Me to Crash

My creativity wove me a secret safety net.

Dr. J. | Donna Jennings, Ph.D.
Blank Page
Published in
5 min readFeb 8, 2021

--

Photo by Aleutie via Deposit Photos

My peri-menopause and menopause events occurred at thirty-six years old after the birth of my only child. Imagine a new parent expecting all the potential joys of parenthood. As I imagined them, all stretched out into the future for eighteen years, something odd occurred. Nature slammed me with a physical downshift rite of female passage. It’s hard to comprehend “the change” when you’ve just had a baby. This happened in a small amount of time, and the hormonal crash crushed me.

There were complex components to this event. My physical body had let me down. Any sound surrounding me became magnified and hurt every fiber of my being-sensory overload. I didn’t want to be touched-sensory overload. My emotions hit bizarre lows and then went even lower-sensory overload.

Thoughts of self-doubt and disbelief overwhelmed me. I could barely take care of myself, much less my family. And my brain malfunctioned and affected my reality. It let me down by closing and locking my life’s experience files. This occurred at the same time my present memory exited. I almost burned the kitchen down because I didn’t remember I turned the stove on to cook spaghetti. And the sad part is some memories during that time remained lost. Lucky for me, my supportive family assisted me in getting…

--

--

Dr. J. | Donna Jennings, Ph.D.
Blank Page

From Retired Sex Therapist (she/her) 2 Erotic/Romance Writer 2 Editor. Covering Sexuality, Writing/Creativity & Erotica. http://drjauthor.com/quicklinks/