Sonder — From the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows

Pratishtha Mishra
Blending Thoughts-मन मंथन
3 min readApr 20, 2018
https://blendwithpratishtha.blogspot.in/2018/04/sonder-from-dictionary-of-obscure.html

Abstract nouns confuse me, that too a lot.

There is this song “love is a verb” which brought me in between the luggage of notions.

When I walk on a somber street in dim light at dusk, I find people either talking, laughing or whispering. My eyes gaze hard at the school of birds trying to settle on a branch of a banyan tree with heavy leaves and heavier branches. I pass by those squirrels running alongside the mud beside the street. I watch a veiled woman circumambulating a temple and a man with a topi bending straight, offering some prayers I guess. Then I watch a band of people dancing hard for some wedding and thereafter there is this stage decorated colorful to make sure nobody interprets the wedding wrong. Those shimmering lights fade away the stars.

Every passer-by seems confused to me. Why? Because I am confused. One fine day among all, I stopped and asked a question to the living and non-living, tangible and intangible and the entire troposphere-”by which abstract noun are you led by, these days?”

Of course, humans were the only one who could have answered this expressively and impressively. Therefore all the other answers were intuitive and were well understood in the mind and were framed there as well.

So,

people talking said, love.

people walking said, happiness.

people laughing said, happiness.

people at the hospital said care.

people worshipping said, care.

the atmosphere sent me the vibes of gaiety.

I was alarmed for a while, but just after all this, I relaxed and breathed. Because somewhere down the line I knew this exists. This bewilderment of ideas has always existed leading to mayhem in the simple heads.

Care is a noun and a verb as well. We show care by caring. Absolutely correct! And my friend, Love is a noun in different forms; love is motherly, sisterly, feverish, fishy, creepy, worship and what not. Love lives in the arms and sleeps in the eyes; is awake in dreams. Love is a vagabond. Hate is more or less a language, an answer; it is a consequence of some noun or verb.

Is Maturity an act or it comes with experience? Is Patience a need or is inherited? Is Wisdom imparted or kept wisely? Do Sorrow and Strength belong to the same family? Is Relaxation a mandate after Tiredness?

HOPE! Is hope that thing that binds us, that tells us what each motion, emotion, noun or verb hold and let us believe that our interpretation is hopefully apt?…

Continue reading this amazing piece: Sonder — From the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows. It will surely melt your heart and blow your mind at the same time.

A beautiful touching video, Sonder: The Realization That Everyone Has A Story, by the Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows Channel at Youtube.

Do visit them at Dictionary of Obscure Sorrows.

--

--

Pratishtha Mishra
Blending Thoughts-मन मंथन

Words here will make your heart giggle, mind clamor and fingers fraternize. Perfect amalgamation of feelings, personifications and poems. https://goo.gl/DRa3nR