Data Analytics Internship at Blibli.com

Jonathan Santoso
Blibli.com Tech Blog
3 min readAug 22, 2019
Data, Data Everywhere

“Data, data everywhere, but not a thought to think” — John Allen Paulos

As the world transforms into a data-driven society, analytical skills is one of the most sought after skills in the job market. Being able to turn these data to meaningful insights for strategic business decisions is critical to a company today. As a data analytics intern at Blibli, I had the opportunity to do just that.

Starting day one, I was warmly welcomed by the data analytics team and briefed on potential projects to work on the upcoming weeks. Next, we were also tasked to gain familiarity with analytical tools utilized in the role such as Google BigQuery and Tableau. Within a week, I had to create analytical reports to analyze the effectiveness of an ongoing promotion for the Marketing team. I was truly being welcomed as part of the team and that the work completed have resulted in something real and useful for the company.

In the next several weeks, with multiple reports and presentations to complete, I have been able to continuously sharpen and develop my analytical skill sets to create in-depth reports and better visualizations for the audience. Due to the centralized system of the data team at Blibli, I also had the wonderful opportunity to interact with various departments in the organization, such as the Marketing team, CRM team, and others, thereby gaining a deeper understanding of how the organization functions.

Within the data team itself, work related interactions were plenty where we would help each other out including fellow interns in the data team in times of difficulty. Apart from work-related interactions, I also had the opportunity to participate in a team-building event exclusively held for the data team which was truly enjoyable.

Data Team at Blibli

Before you know it, time flies by so fast that my internship period was already over. I knew that I was going to miss this place given the work environment, friendly co-workers, helpful mentors, and also fellow interns. I truly had an enjoyable experience interning at Blibli especially coming from a manufacturing engineering background. I have learned many things from this experience and this experience have paved a way for my future career in analytics.

Finally, I would like to thank everyone in the data team in particular my mentors Kak Jessica, Kak Vanessa, Ko Eric, Ko Joshua for always giving guidance and help. Thank you Blibli.com for giving me such an amazing opportunity.

--

--