Internship at Blibli.com

Yedija Messa
Blibli.com Tech Blog
2 min readSep 1, 2019
Outing to Museum Kebangkitan Nasional

Being a data analytics intern is one of my prominent steps to have a good understanding in business and technology. Data analytics combines several fields such as business, programming, and marketing. Big data is also the core of how the world develops at the moment, because it’s the answer to plenty of problems that the society is facing, either it is a traditional or modern solution.

I am beyond grateful to be accepted in one of the biggest e-commerce company in Indonesia, which is Blibli.com. Working in such a fast-paced company, I didn’t expect to get this extremely comfortable working environment with people that love jokes, games, and every entertainment that could divert themselves from their tiring jobs.

My first day was great. The data team greeted us (the interns) warmly. It was just an orientation day. They introduced the company itself, the work ethics, what they wanted the interns to work on and what are the ways so we can develop ourselves at Blibli.com.

Just the day after, I feel the intensity of the work in Blibli.com. I got a new project which I had to gather external data, then the internal data after I got my PC. I had to do several data analytics jobs like querying (including cleaning the data) and visualizing the data. I also did my first report in English!

In the data analytics team, I did a lot of projects, ad-hocs, and dashboards. The total is 18! The seniors are extremely helpful. They even conducted several sharing sessions (which are about SQL and Tableau) that really helps my performance in Blibli.com. I did not ever hesitate to ask however many questions to them. Every month I had a sharing session to tell the mentors what have I worked on for the past one month and how are the results

For 11 weeks, I did not only do work-related things with them. We also had an outing in a museum and several lunch together in mall.

Blibli.com is a really great place to work at. They welcome their employees warmly and the workplace’s aura is positive. They provide their workers’ basic needs, such as breakfast and lunch, in order for them to reach their optimum productive state. The workers are also very friendly and welcoming, creating a cozy workplace for teamwork and sharing ideas.

At the end of the internship, they give us a gift as a form of their gratitude.

It was a really great internship for me. I have learned a lot of hardskills (SQL, Tableau, Python, Excel) and softskills (communication, presenting) etc. I also made great friends whom came from different countries, most of them are from Indonesia and some of them are from the US. The mentors and seniors are appreciative.

Thank you Blibli.com!

--

--