Learning Data Science with Blibli.com

Nicholas Andre
Blibli.com Tech Blog
2 min readApr 15, 2019

For the past few weeks, I have been a Data Scientist Intern at Indonesia’s leading e-commerce website, Blibli.com. When I was offered this position instead of Software Engineering Intern that I was applying, I was hesitant. I knew nothing about Data Science and I was not confident that I would succeed in that role. Yet, there were some parts of me that really wanted to try it out. And here I am, on the last day of my internship, feeling thankful that I decided to try it out.

The people in the team I worked with were awesome. I first met my two mentors, Fritz and Welly, who also interviewed me during my application process. They explained to me what I would be doing during my internship here, and I couldn’t be more excited after hearing about the projects. On my first day, I also had lunch with the head of the data team, Johan Sulaiman, who is always very kind and outgoing during my time here. I am also grateful for all the help that I got from all the other full-timers here who are always ready to help.

During my time here, I worked on two projects. The first one was about Blibli.com’s social media presence here in Indonesia, and the second one was creating a sentiment analysis using the product review’s dataset. During these two projects, I learned a lot about collaboration, as I worked with two other interns who are also my friends. We spent so much time preparing the data and training our models, both of which we had never done before. In the end, with the help of all the full-timers and their feedbacks, we were able to complete both of them.

Overall, it really was a great experience to intern here as a Data Scientist. I could not be more satisfied with what I have done during my one-month internship here, and I wish it lasted longer. Thank you to all the Data Team that made my experience here such an enjoyable one!

--

--