Change Doesn’t Have To Be Hard. Just Do This One Thing.

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION
Published in
4 min readJun 15, 2017

Change is hard. Change is scary. Change is painful. But, what if it’s not?

I’m here to suggest change can be easy. Change can be exciting and it can feel really amazing!

There is a catch though. (I know, always a catch, right?) Well, the catch is utter and total surrender.

That’s it. Just wave your white flag, throw up your hands and give in. Easy, right?

It sounds easy, but for some people–and I might go out on a limb here and say MOST people–adapting to change is extremely hard. Whether good or bad. So, giving the expected or unexpected change a “great big hug” is not always easy for people.

Even if the change is something you really want or need for you, your life or your business, you need to accept 100% that your world is going to be “shook up” a little, or maybe a lot. Your view, your perspective and your routines will alter. The boat will rock for a while. And you absolutely NEED to be okay will all of this.

Once you sit back and shift your mindset from “OH MY GOD! Nothing is right!” to “Soon everything will be better than ever!”, your mind will automatically begin to adapt and help you navigate the rough waters change tends to bring.

You will grow, then grow some more. You will be knocked out of complacency and boredom and catapulted in to the new. Often the unknown.

But, it’s all good. Change…is…good.

Change has been a constant in my life ever since losing my eyesight 17 years ago. I feel I have mastered the art of change and decided somewhere along the way to just make it my friend.

Accepting and embracing it in my life with an open mind, and wide open arms, I realized that every kick and every scream only made it more painful. I didn’t want something that was inevitably going to happen to have that much power over me and my emotions.

Do you allow change to have power over you? Does it play with your emotions and make you stupid, crazy and otherwise a totally different person?

“All great changes are preceded by chaos.” — Deepak Chopra

My wife and I just moved in to our new home. Talk about a big change, right? Moving can be very stressful. Packing and purging. Half your stuff is in boxes, and the rest is a chaotic mess.

Knowing this was a big change for us, I began packing early. I embraced the process and was excited for our future. That alone gave me the “mojo” to get through it all. Though I knew I would have my own challenges, I accepted our place was going to be in a state of chaos and that things would be different for several weeks.

My wife, on the other hand, was not so open to living in disarray. She likes routine and works very well on schedules and timelines. So, when I uprooted our daily routines for not just a few days, but a few weeks, she found it rather difficult to adapt.

She eventually found a semi-comfortable flow, which allowed me to bring us to the finish line still happily married! 😉

I believe the difference between her experience and mine was that I accepted and surrendered completely to the change…our move. Where as, she had not. Her resistance to all of the subsequent changes affected her more than if she had just said, “It’s okay. Everything will be great very soon.”

What big change is happening in your life right now? Are you embracing all this change is bringing to you? Have you surrendered?

I challenge you to stop and think about how you are living through all the changes that occur in your life. Whether you are moving, changing careers, adding to your family, or dealing with physical or mental changes, now is a good time to ask yourself how hard you want this to be.

Because, it doesn’t have to be hard at all.

It can be easy, exciting and even fun. That’s what life is all about, isn’t it?

Life is full of beautiful changes. All you have to do is…surrender.

Surrender to the change and all it brings and your experience will be completely different.

Easier.

Better.

Dare I say amazing, even.

What change could you surrender to right now to make life easier?

Please share in the comments.

PS: One more thing…if you like this, subscribe here to never miss a post.

--

--

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION

Motivational Diversity Speaker. Blind but fashionable. Lesbian & in love with wine, my wife & my dog. #speaker #motivational #diversity #lgbtq #wine