How Does Inspiration Fuel Motivation?

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION
Published in
4 min readJun 28, 2017

The words ‘inspiration’ and ‘motivation’ are so commonly used and phrased today, we often don’t stop to think about what it is they both mean to us. And moreover, what they do for us.

Inspiration is the story. The person. The reason we want to do something. Stories that hit the heart. An article. A quote. A song.

Desire ignites within. The drive is alive. Kindness emerges. We feel joy, compassion and love.

We occasionally meet or admire someone who inspires us to think and feel differently. Some for only a moment. Others have the ability to completely change our lives forever.

Inspiration is the emotion.

Motivation is what we do–or sometimes not do–because of how truly inspired we are. It’s because of that story, that article, that song we hear, or that person we meet that impacts us and our lives so greatly, that we feel compelled to do something. Anything. We are pulled, pushed and driven to make a change in our lives or make a difference in someone else’s.

Motivation is the action.

So individually, inspiration and motivation are beautiful things in our lives. But actually, they kind of go hand in hand.

Like bread and butter. Though delicious separately, they are unstoppable together.

Are you motivated in your life right now?

Maybe you are chasing a dream or working towards a goal. Maybe you decided you needed a change. A shake-up.

Let me ask you? What’s driving you to cross the finish line? To make the decision. To make the big change?

Most of us lean to the future. We think about how it will make us feel. How our lives, bodies, careers, etc. will look. How life will overall be better and maybe even amazing.

This may be true.

Absolutely.

But, I’m here to challenge that’s not WHY you began the thought process to chase that dream. It’s not the REAL reason you want to make that big change. Nope. I don’t think so!

I’ll be so bold as to say your world, your piggy bank or your heart got flipped upside down and shaken like a martini. And you know what I say to all of that? Bring it on!

Now, don’t get me wrong. The broken hearts, challenges and situations hurt. They are painful, sometimes scary and often uncomfortable.

But, once we take a few moments, days or potentially weeks to drown our sorrows and hide from the world for a while, we usually get to a point where even we have had enough of how we feel. Not wanting to feel “this way” anymore, or not wanting to live in the current state of “nowhere” motivates us to finally do something. Anything.

Inspiration hits. Like a punch in the face. It’s time to make a change, and we’re finally motivated to start.

To heal. To move.

To live life again!

“If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.” — Henry Ford

After my niece, Christa, and her beautiful baby boy, Taylor were killed in a bus accident nearly 10 years ago, it was really difficult for me to even get up some mornings, never mind be motivated to do much else. After a little time, I was able to find my way.

Christa helped me learn that life can be gone in an instant and to not take one single moment for granted.

She was my inspiration to begin my healing and move forward in my life.

To chase my dreams. To live in the now. Find the love of my life.

Thank you Baby girl.

Music is also HUGE inspiration for me.

It can get me feeling so happy and in the mood to get things done. It can make me feel raw and vulnerable, which helps me to write and communicate to people.

Plus I just love to turn it up and sing! HA HA

What inspires you?

Inspiration is everywhere and is different for everyone. It’s in music, blog posts and YouTube. It’s your cashier, your mentor or your hired motivational speaker.

Where ever you find your inspiration, just find it! Capture it and as soon as you feel inspired, use it to motivate you to do whatever it is you want to do. Get healthy. Move to a new city. Start a business. Stand up for a cause.

Chase your dreams. Change your life. Make a difference.

Be all you are meant to be in this world!

“If you can dream it. You can do it!” — Walt Disney

What can you do today to make a step towards your dreams? Tell us in the comments below…

--

--

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION

Motivational Diversity Speaker. Blind but fashionable. Lesbian & in love with wine, my wife & my dog. #speaker #motivational #diversity #lgbtq #wine