Why You Should Have a Dream List and How To Create One

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2017

Let’s start with a popular saying to set the tone for this post: “There are seven days in a week and someday isn’t one of them.”

How often do you say to yourself: “I’ll do it tomorrow” or “Maybe someday”… ?

But then what happens? Life happens. Career, kids, marriage and money. Don’t forget time, laziness, self doubt and plain ol’ excuse making.

Then before you know it, all the things you wanted to do, places you dreamed of going and experiences you fantasized about are but a distant wish in your aging mind.

I don’t know about you, but when I am in my blissful Universe on “the other side,” drinking wine and singing karaoke with my Bestie, I want to look down and smile knowing I did everything I wanted to. Everything I dreamed of. That I did absolutely everything possible to make every one of my dreams come true.

That is why I believe having a dream list is super important. Once created, it can be a powerful tool to help you live a more happy, fulfilling life.

What is a dream list?

Well, it’s kind of like a bucket list, but with a little more heart and soul.

It is a list of things you would absolutely love to do, have, see and experience if there was absolutely NOTHING standing in your way. If you had unlimited resources — like time, money, etc. — what would you love to do?

What do you spend your mind time day dreaming and wishing about?

So, how do you create a dream list?

As far as how you set this up, it’s totally up to you. Whether it’s on a piece of paper or in an online document, label it “My Dream List” along with the date.

Next, take a deep breath and dream! Visualize and bring them to life in your mind. Imagine you have no limitations, nothing is holding you back and that anything is possible for you.

Where have you always wanted to go? Feel the sand in your toes on that beach. Stand tall at the peak of Mount Everest. Sip wine in Italy. Be there!

Now, write it down.

What have you always wanted to do? Feel the joy as you are doing it in your mind. Sing in front of a thousand people. Zip line over a jungle. Open your own restaurant. Have a baby. Ride a camel. Feel that joy!

Write it down…

What about your fantasies?

Oh come on! This is YOUR dream list… and for your eyes only. If you want to go “THERE”, that’s your prerogative. ;-)

I’m thinking more along the lines of meeting a famous person. Living in a mansion for a year. Be someone’s hero. Be a Shaman. Again, your dreams.

Write it down…

Trust me, if you open your mind and allow yourself to truly feel, see and believe in your dreams, your dream list will be created and finally put out there to The Universe, ready for them to become a reality.

Now, just because you have created your list today, does not mean you can’t change it, add to it or even delete things that no longer resonate with you. Simply add a new dream or make the change with a new date and that’s it.

If there’s one thing I have learned over the years, it’s you can’t control time. I believe you absolutely have to chase after your dreams. After all, they are YOUR dreams. But, sometimes life does get in the way and no matter how much we plan and prepare, The Universe can take us down a different road.

Now, keep it sacred.

Have you every shared a dream or a goal with someone, and they laughed at you? Or maybe they left you feeling doubtful that you could make that specific dream come true, and left it collecting dust in the back of your mind and at the bottom of your heart?

This is precisely why keeping your dream list to yourself is something I recommend. It’s sacred.

These are your dreams and no matter what anyone thinks about them or about you, they are real.

Though sharing my entire dream list would go against how I feel, I would like to share just a few with you. (And anyways, they are no secret to anyone who knows me! ;-) )

My dream is to meet Ellen Degeneres.

My dream is to play the guitar like a rockstar.

My dream is to visit and explore Greece with my wife.

My dream is to be a best selling author.

My dream is to run a 5k.

That’s all you get! It’s sacred, remember?

Here is something I write on my own dream list and read every time I go over it:

“These are my dreams. I whisper them to Love and to The Universe knowing that every one will and can come true. I detach from knowing how… I detach from knowing when and I release and let go with loving gratitude.”

Now go. Go create your dream list to remind yourself of what you don’t want to miss out on in the next 20, 30 or even 50 years of your life. That may sound like a lot of time, but I guarantee you… it is not.

“A year from now, you will wish you had started today.” — Karen Lamb

Don’t take even one minute for granted.

Take every opportunity to do absolutely everything you love, with the people you love.

It’s so awesome to hear someone say: “My dreams are coming true! Wouldn’t it be even more awesome if it were you?

--

--

Tamara Speaks
BLIND INSPIRATION

Motivational Diversity Speaker. Blind but fashionable. Lesbian & in love with wine, my wife & my dog. #speaker #motivational #diversity #lgbtq #wine