An Interview with Suryanto, an Artist of Fan Art

Jayden Chan
Block Insight
Published in
3 min readJan 21, 2021

Block INSIGHT is fortunate to invite crypto artist Suryanto to participate in our exclusive interview. Learn the experience behind Suryanto’s artworks in the following interview.

Suryanto

Twitter:https://twitter.com/Suryanto_sur234

SupeRare : superrare.co/suryanto

Interview

Host: Block INSIGHT
Guest: Suryanto from Indonesia

Block INSIGHT: Welcome to Block INSIGHT! Please introduce yourself and let the community know more about you.
Suryanto: My name is Suryanto,39 years old. Until now, I am working as an IT Programmer at a retail company in Indonesia. Since childhood, I love drawing, especially fan art, but only as a hobby. This hobby continues until now. January, I joined crypto art, given the freedom to express our emotions in images that are tokenized at ETH. Through various things, guided by Jay dellay, Collin, Coldie, and many other artists as my inspiration. From being a traditional fan art, I learned many things. Glitch, abstract, a little simple animation. Because I am very curious, and always want my abilities to continue to develop. Moreover, I finally found a style that suits me, the freestyle of Basquiat. I love drawing poetry, seizing synergy, and painting, which is combined text and images, abstraction and figuration, and historical information mixed with contemporary criticism. I like to attack power structures and tease individuals.

Q1: When and how you started working on digital art?
Suryanto: I started to make digital art creation five years ago. Just a hobby, to fill my time besides my full-time job as an IT programmer. One year ago, the first time I know about crypto and crypto art. I started to improve myself with some glitches, vectors, collages, and fan art with photoshop. I found myself as abstraction and figuration drawing with a smartphone, and historical information mixed with contemporary criticism. I like to attack power structures and tease individuals.

Q2: In your opinion, what changes or advantages has blockchain technology
Suryanto: The unique and indelible signature to a digital file on the blockchain is the hallmark of crypto art. This means that I am the only one who owns the creation of the work, even though it is widely circulated on the blockchain. The community is a medium for people like us, as its freedom allowed everybody to create without limitation.

Q3: Any art piece you are working on lately? Share them if you wish and tell us more about the works.
Suryanto: I have a great artist for collaborations. He is Andri Wibowo. This guy understands what I want in terms of colors, texture, and scene animation. He’s able to read my imagination. So I continue to work with him with aesthetic 3d animation from my creation. “Bull run” is my next project. The story about two bulls. One escapes to the market, and one is stuck with the farmer, cant run. Like a crypto market.

Q4: Are you willing to educate people outside this field? How are you going to explain what your work or job is to them?
Suryanto: Yes, I love helping people. There are many great artists that we don’t know. A lot of great creations we never see before. Frankly, I already did it, help some new artists come to crypto art. Love to see them grow up. But I told them, build a portfolio is very important, don’t ever try the main market just for money, show to people about your art, and they will find you later or soon.

Q5: Where do you usually mint your work? Would you consider minting works into new NFT platforms?
Suryanto: Right now is SuperRare Team, but I may mint on another platform also.

Helpful Links

Twitter|Wechat

--

--