Randall Kanna joins Blockade Games as Solidity Developer for Neon District!

Chris Tannahill
Blockade Games
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2018
Welcome to Neon District, Randall! And thanks to Marketing Lead, Alli Torres, for the image edit!

The Team at Blockade Games would like to extend a very warm welcome to Blockchain Engineer, Randall Kanna; the new Solidity Developer for Cyberpunk RPG, Neon District.

Randall began coding at age 12. She recalls playing Neopets as her earliest exposure to the industry. “I would build webpages every week for my Pirates of the Caribbean themed fan guild and figure out small ways to hack the site with my sister. They had digital currency on there and I still have a few million… Unfortunately it doesn’t have the same value as Ethereum!”

Randall has been an avid gamer for as long as she can remember. She grew up surrounded by lots of computer games and her Sony PlayStation. Although she admits memory can be sweeter than reality at times. “My boyfriend and I recently [rediscovered] the PS One. We played some of the early games.. Let me just say, the image quality did not hold up.”

After completing an internship in college, Kanna got her first engineering job at a ticketing company. Since then she has also completed the B9 Academy Ethereum Developer Course. Combining her career path with her love of coding and experience with digital currencies, she has recently made the jump to fully focus on blockchain.

When asked why she chose Neon District, Kanna responded, “I think Marguerite (YT) is so amazing and inspiring. I actually quit my day job to work on this team. I was really excited by the idea and the passion that the team has about it. I’ll be working on the Blockchain side of things in solidity.”

A very warm welcome, once again, to Randall Kanna!

More from Randall, Blockade Games & Neon District

Writer’s note.

As a writer of fact, fiction and pretty much anything else that tickles my fancy, I admire Randall for her abilities; if there’s one thing I know I’ll never be able to write, it’s code.

While I was piecing together this article, trying to copy-paste some links, I accidentally fat-fingered the keyboard shortcut to inspect elements. It scared the crap out of me. Coincidentally, that’s about the extend of my coding experience to date.

It’s an absolute pleasure to have you on the team, Randall. Thanks for taking some time to share this part of your story with me and everyone on Medium!

I look forward to seeing you hit home runs with all the “elements” of blockchain I’ll never fully understand!

Chris Tannahill — Writer @ Blockade Games

--

--

Chris Tannahill
Blockade Games

Writer | Pokémon Master | Founder & CEO @ Luna Cards 🎴