Get It

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365
Published in
1 min readSep 26, 2016

I’m really good at asking.

At dreaming.

At making plans for the future.

At getting myself into position to execute said plans.

Aaaaand then freaking the hell out.

I’ve been at my new job since the end of August, but this week, it really starts. I’ll finally be out at schools, working with teachers who are perhaps experiencing similar joys and struggles that I’ve experienced in the classroom. Teachers who are excited to walk in their classroom each and every day, teachers who aren’t sure where they’ll get the energy or motivation to walk through that same door, and all the teachers in between.

Teachers who are perhaps wishing they knew just one more tip or strategy to help their students learn to read and write proficiently.

Maybe I know that strategy. Maybe just being someone else who’s been there will lead to a level of learning and collaboration that will make a direct and profiund impact on students. Maybe I’ll walk away a more knowledgable educator myself (not maybe, I’m counting on that).

I’ve asked for this. It’s time to get it.

Day 25

--

--

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

ELA TOSA, edu-blogger, advocate of high standards & support for all kids, @natblogcollab co-founder & writing coach