In an Instant

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365
Published in
1 min readSep 7, 2016

First of all, I’m ok. Let’s get that out of the way.

Officer: Well, do you want the good news or the bad news?

Brooke: Right now, I don’t care.

Officer: Ok, the good news is that the other driver admitted fault.

Brooke: Good, it was his fault.

Officer: The bad news is, he’s uninsured.

Brooke: Of course he is.

It’s amazing how the trajectory of your day can change in an instant. In an instant what you thought to be pressing and important ebbs, and what truly matters becomes crystal clear.

My family matters. My friends matter. The goals I have for myself now and in the future matter.

Cars can be replaced. Schedules can be adjusted. Emails can wait for a better time.

I’m ok, and because of that, everything else will be too.

Day 6

--

--

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

ELA TOSA, edu-blogger, advocate of high standards & support for all kids, @natblogcollab co-founder & writing coach