Fake Less, Be More

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

--

Over the past few years, I’ve put a lot of stock in the term, “fake it ‘til you make it.”

It’s not the most sophisticated mantra, nor is it eloquent in any way, shape, or form, but I have to give it credit for giving me the faux confidence to do a lot of things that I look back on with pride.

Despite my success with this mindset, I think it’s time to retire it. I’ve tried it on recently, with my new job, and it just doesn’t fit like it used to. I’ve outgrown it.

I had a productive session with my therapist last weekend where the topic of discussion was confidence and self-doubt. She said, “You’re in this position because you deserve to be there. You have the skills necessary to be successful.”

That’s. It.

No need to doubt, no need to assume I misrepresented myself or my abilities, there was no mistake.

Moving forward, no more faking, only being.

Day 19 (a little late)

--

--

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

ELA TOSA, edu-blogger, advocate of high standards & support for all kids, @natblogcollab co-founder & writing coach