Skill Sets

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365
Published in
2 min readSep 3, 2016

“I do not have these skills,” I whispered as I stared at a spreadsheet filled with numbers, colors, and symbols.

I’ve recently moved into a new role as an ELA (English Language Arts) TOSA (Teacher on Special Assignment), we love our abbreviations in education, can you tell? Although I moved into the role primarily because I knew I would still be TEACHING, just in a different capacity, I wasn’t quite prepared for the steep learning curve involved with tasks that just weren’t part of my day to day life in the classroom.

I’m good with people.

I’m good with relationships.

I’m good with recognizing the needs of my students and meeting them creatively and effectively.

Organizing multi-layered schedules that live on spreadsheets and impact hundreds of people? No. Nope. Huh uh.

It’s just not my forte.

So when my new boss asks me to check over said multi-layered schedule and ensure that there are no mistakes or conflicts…

My brain is thinking, “Uh, yeah, I’m just not good at that so you’re gonna have to ask someone else.”

My mouth betrays me and quickly spouts, “I’m on it!”

“What just happened?” thinks brain.

Skill sets. I will have more skills by the end of this experience. Even ones that involve spreadsheets.

Day 2

--

--

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

ELA TOSA, edu-blogger, advocate of high standards & support for all kids, @natblogcollab co-founder & writing coach