Wait

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365
Published in
2 min readSep 16, 2016

I am the one thing in life I can control

I am inimitable

I am an original

I’m not falling behind or running late

I’m not standing still

I am lying in wait

There are times, so so many times, that I feel like I’m behind. I get this overwhelming sense of impatience: in career especially, but really, in every corner of my life.

I want more, and I’m truly not trying to sound selfish — because not only do I see big things for my little family, but I crave growing my scope of impact. Landing on a bigger platform; one that I promise to use for good.

But then the doubt seeps in.

Do you really think you can handle that kind of responsibility? …

I settle back in, comfortable in my world of familiarity.

You have no idea how to be effective at that scale…

I’ve even been known to stunt my own growth with negative thinking; not making the most of opportunities that will make me better.

You don’t have the experience you’d need and no plan of how to get the experience you’d need…

I need to become confident and comfortable with the steps, although small, that I’m taking to find my platform. Or maybe it’s not even the platform itself that’s deserving of my focus, but instead, the journey in getting there. There’s really no room for impatience on this ride.

I’m not falling behind or running late.

I’m not standing still, I am lying in wait.

“Wait For It” Lin-Manuel Miranda /Hamilton

Day 15

--

--

Brooke Carlyle Perry
Blog 365

ELA TOSA, edu-blogger, advocate of high standards & support for all kids, @natblogcollab co-founder & writing coach