Bangladesh, IMO, & Cricket: 15 July 2015

Faiaz
The Curious Commentator
4 min readJul 16, 2015

In the morning I came to know about the brilliant result of Bangladesh IMO (International Math Olympiad) team in this year’s IMO; who became the 33rd best country among the participating 114 countries. Our boys bagged 1 Silver, 4 Bronze, and 1 Honourable mention (missed Bronze for 1 point). The brilliant minds did better than many established performers like India, Slovakia, Macau, Israel, others, & had the first position among all South Asian countries. This is a big achievement considering it is only Bangladesh’s 11th time participating in the competition. I don’t know the participants personally, but a big shout-out to them. Years of hard work is paying off & I never for a second had doubt in my mind about the potential of our students. We are as brilliant as any other students of any other nation!

But then, at night this happened.

Our Captain: Mashrafe Mortaza

I was at a loss for words for the last 20 minutes or so, after Bangladesh Cricket team won their bilateral series against one of the best ODI teams of the world, South Africa. It’s hard to believe even for a Bangladeshi Cricket fan, to swallow the fact that we defeated Zimbabwe, Pakistan, India, & South Africa in back to back bilateral ODI series’ in 2015. For long Bangladesh was considered as ‘minnows’ in cricket. At times of dismal display of our cricketing abilities, many critiqued whether Bangladesh deserved to be a Test playing nation, or even play cricket series against established powers like India, Australia. The world cup 2015 performance was outstanding, moving to Quarter Finals knocking out England from the group stage & for sure, Bangladesh showed how much they have developed as a side. But there was much more to prove. There were occasional glimpses of brilliance before too, but consistency is what was lacking. After the consistent display of superb performances in 2015, Bangladesh should be considered as the new powerhouse of cricket. Not only because we defeated India, Pakistan, South Africa; but because of how we defeated them, dominating in every department for most of the matches. Bangladesh now needs to replicate the performance overseas, but unfortunately we don’t have a series outside Bangladesh soon.

My belief in the Tigers was never rooted in practicality or in my cricketing acumen. I always believed Bangladesh would win before every match. For most part of my life that has not been true. But I, we never lost hope. And now when we finally see the long wait paying off, our heroes performing in the field like we always wanted them too, I dare to dream more. Because why not? 2019 world cup cricket is in England, and Bangladesh will play the final. Yes, you heard me right. Did it sound outrageous? Well my friend, you have no idea of how much belief we have on our team. You have not seen how we rose from the ashes, how we overcame all the odds. I know I know, I might be too optimistic. But if I can feel frustrated, swear to not watch cricket anymore after every Bangladesh defeat for hundreds of matches; & yet sit in front of TV before each & every next match hoping we would win; I can dream to see Bangladesh playing in the Final of 2019 world cup.

“Growing up, I was often asked which team was my favourite. And I always responded with “Bangladesh”. But there would be a follow up question: No. Who’s your favourite besides Bangladesh? As if I’d chosen them out of a sense of obligation. As if everyone did.

Hopefully, we’ve reached a time when no child will ever be asked this question again. When they can point towards Mashrafe as their favourite captain, Shakib as all rounder, Soumya as opening batsman, Rubel-Mustafiz as pacers. A world where they can be patriotic and proud, no questions asked.

Thank God for that world.

- Mastura Tasnim

I will confess, sometimes due to several negative news, because of the living condition in Dhaka city, because of the state of governance, corruption, & seemingly never ending problems; I lose hope. I feel helpless thinking about the bleak future of Bangladesh when I fear the same irregularities will go on; when I see people accepting all the abnormalities as their fate; when I hear my friends say that this country has no future. But days like today restore the belief in me, nothing is impossible for this nation. A nation that can suffer humiliating defeats for years & then turn around to dominate the big experienced nations like 2015; we can also turn around in all other aspects of life. We have already shown by becoming a model state for achieving MDG goals, being lauded by UN. We are already a role model for utilizing solar energy across the villages. We are already an exemplary nation where NGOs have shown how big of an impact they can play in nation’s development. We have already shown how resilience of people can bring country back from natural calamities, political chaos, & times of violence. We have already shown how an economy can sustain it’s growth in the times of global financial crisis. We have already emerged as one of the world’s fastest growing economies, and a lower-middle income country from lower income country. We are progressing, but our potential is so much more. I believe, with a positive change in our governance and politics, we can achieve so much! Our generation has the opportunity now, to lead in achieving all we can, as a nation. To fulfill the dreams of the 1971 liberation war martyrs in seeing Bangladesh stand with pride in the international arena.

I am waiting for the day, Bangladesh will be an exemplary nation in all walks of life. Let’s do it together, shall we?

--

--

Faiaz
The Curious Commentator

Passionate about learning, social impact, public policy & global affairs. Avid reader, occasional writer.