The Spirit of Tenacity Among Athletes in the World of Football

NYXS
NYXS
Published in
3 min readJul 11, 2023

Becoming an athlete is a long journey filled with struggles. So much has to be sacrificed, learned, and mastered by athletes to succeed in the world of sports.

The public is used to seeing athletes competing in matches. But what is their story behind the field?

Muhammad Uchida Sudirman, 20 Years Old

The athlete commonly known as Uchi said that one of the challenges of being an athlete is maintaining a proportional body weight. That’s why Uchi pursued two sports simultaneously; football and Thai boxing.

Despite engaging in two sports at once, Uchi’s achievements are remarkable. He won a bronze medal in Muay Thai at the 2019 SEA Games, gold and bronze medals at the Papua National Games, and became the champion of the Tienpong Plastic Cup in 2017.

“The temptation of dieting is quite challenging, especially since I love to eat. Being an athlete requires maintaining body weight and a strict diet. Therefore, I must be able to control myself by reducing sweet and fried foods as much as possible,” he explained.

As for adapting to the team, Uchi admitted that he didn’t face many difficulties. After diving into professional athletics, he made an effort to get to know and bond with the team, including the senior athletes.

“When it comes to approach, the language and style should be adjusted to match their age. Although sometimes hesitant, the senior athletes are very helpful for personal development,” Uchi said.

Despite the tough training, physical and mental exhaustion, and many challenges to overcome, Uchi claimed that he still enjoys the process.

“It’s because I love, have passion for, and am proud to be an athlete. Not everyone has the opportunity to become one. So, I remain enthusiastic about going through the process and proud of myself,” he stated.

Muhammad Syifa, 18 Years Old

Leaving home and living far away is Syifa’s struggle since he decided to become an athlete.

“Physically demanding training is common for me. But being far from home is quite a challenge,” he said.

Additionally, being part of a team sport like football requires him to adapt to new people.

“I’m quite shy by nature. But to be a professional athlete, I can’t be shy. Even if I don’t know them yet, I must be able to adjust and approach my teammates,” Syifa explained.

Despite having to step out of his comfort zone, Syifa remains enthusiastic about pursuing his dream in the world of football.

“I stay motivated because my family supports me. This entire endeavor is also for success in football, playing in a professional league, and making my parents happy. I want to build a house for my parents,” he expressed.

Marvin Delano Al Mahogra, 13 Years Old

Becoming an athlete at such a young age, Marvin has his struggles. He must consistently train 5–6 times a week amid his school routine.

“The main challenge is balancing training time with school and assignments. Besides that, during matches, it’s about suppressing ego, maintaining mood or emotions if a teammate plays selfishly,” Marvin explained.

According to Marvin, the path to success is through perseverance. Without struggle, sacrifice, and consistency, he cannot achieve success.

“I want to become a successful professional athlete for my future. Not only at the national level but also at the international level. I undertake this struggle for myself and my parents who have always supported me,” he concluded.

--

--