Experience

Meghashyam
The Blog of Meghashyam
2 min readDec 28, 2014

--

It was a cold evening in the mid December and at that moment I only wished for a fireplace with a mantelpiece in home. Then thinking it’s not possible now I decided to make tea for ourselves.

Mom asked suspiciously, “Are you sure about that?”

I asked her, “why not?” half knowing what she had meant and there came the immediate response.

“Because once you start, you end up asking 15 questions about making tea which is absolutely abnormal.”

I challenged her, “You bet?”

‘We’ll see’ was her reply with a grin that I would lose.

I signed my sister to help me with the tea.

There I was almost making tea with of course most of the help from her when a tiny drop of hot tea fell on my hand and I jerked.

“You see that?”, my sister asked me. I asked her, “See what?”, again half knowing what she was talking about.

“That jerk when a drop fell on you hand? That’s called Experience.” I stared her for a moment then we both burst into laughter. At that moment I had realized the importance of experience. Not that I didn't knew before but I just chose to ignore the realization. Now I realized that the realization hasn't ignored me.

So what’s this experience business all about? It’s all about involvement in or exposure to a particular thing or event. This comes from experimenting. A lot of experimenting in an event or thing makes us expert. More experience in a thing makes you expert in that.

There comes an ambiguity between experience and wisdom. A wise person might be an experienced but the reverse is not true. Wisdom before experience is only words; wisdom after experience is of no avail.

Do you know the difference between education and experience? Education is when you read the print; experience is what you get when you don’t. — Anonymous

We often tend to learn only big things in life from experience. Rest all we choose to ignore. Let us not do that and I won’t. Few call mistakes as an experience. Yes they are right! But remember, if experience comes from a mistake it’s a valuable experience which is not to be experienced again.

P.S: I however made the tea and my mom was astonished until my sister burst it out with a wink saying, “Yeah! He didn't even ask me”.

Thank you!

I’ll keep writing.

Later ☺

Also hit ❤ recommend if you liked it.

Follow Meghashyam on his blog The Blog of Meghashyam.

--

--

Meghashyam
The Blog of Meghashyam

A Software Engineer by Profession and a Photographer by passion.