Shopping List (by Hensoft)

An iPhone shopping list app

Samantha Presser
Blog posts from #team404.

--

Why do I like it?

It stops me carrying around piles of odd scraps of paper in my handbag with bits’n’pieces of supermarket requests, and the sync with a group of users means that if I’m passing the supermarket, I don’t need to call around and ask the house-sharers if there’s anything they need.

Plus, it remembers everything I’ve bought and autocompletes items when typing, so once you’ve taught it my regular items, populating the shopping list each week becoming a very quick process.

This one’s been a staple on my phone for about 18 months, and I’ve got the rest of the family using it too, now!

Price?

$3.79.

There’s also a free version available, but it doesn’t allow you to set your own categories or create multiple lists, which gave me the irrits after about a week.

Pros

  • Allows you to setup and sync lists with multiple users
  • Remembers your grocery history, so it’s both easier and quicker to create the list each week

Cons

  • Occasional sync bug when you’re out of data range can lead to some items being lost for all users
  • Takes a while to populate everything the first few times.
  • An android version wouldn’t go astray — it’s a good thing for me that my home group are all iPhone users.

Can it be improved?

The app has heaps of features which I simply don’t use! You can set prices for groceries so it will estimate the cost of your weekly spend; you can set different measurement quantities, etc. I’d love to be able to turn some features off if I don’t use them to regain some screen real estate in an interface littered with minutia.

iPhone screen capture

Is it easy to use?

Takes a while initially to customise, but worth the effort after that. Learning curve isn’t too steep for daily stuff, however I did have to sit with Mum to help her set hers up the first time, so it could use a little work.

Is it pretty?

Yep! Nice rich colours and wood panel background makes it a nice place to be.

--

--

Samantha Presser
Blog posts from #team404.

Designer, Vespa lover, procrastinator, technophile, shoe addict, photoshop junkie and diver.