Flickr Creative Commons — “The Ladies’ home journal” (1889)

10 UX lessons I learned from building our office lunch app

Lasse Kristensen
5 min readAug 10, 2015

--

Once in a while we all come up with new ideas for apps that would solve small or large problems based on a personal or professional pain point. Taking this a step further, I’ve always thought it would be a great learning experience to take one of my ideas through to a finished product. Hopefully through fleshing out an idea, I could answer questions such as: Is this idea so great after all, once the novelty wears off? Does this digital product truly cover an actual user need? Is this need large enough to warrant an entire digital product? Do my UI design decisions hold water and is the product easy to navigate and a joy to use? I’m a designer who has taught myself how to code iOS apps, so I thought it would be fun to create an app from scratch, learning a ton of things going through all the concept, design and development phases of the digital product.

Meet Lunchie

I work as a UX designer at FFW, a global digital agency headquartered in Copenhagen. One day, our global creative director had an idea: why don’t we make an app that tells us what’s for lunch? Although the idea was simple, I really liked it. We get lunch delivered by an external catering company and the menu changes on a daily basis. Every Monday we get the menu for the whole week, but in a clunky PDF format thats difficult to open on your phone…

--

--

Lasse Kristensen

UX/UI designer. Passionate about the possibilities of digital products to transform the world. Chock-full of positive energy. http://www.lassekristensen.co