Thoughts Of a Formely Tired and Burnt Out Writer

When You Have No Words Left

Sarah Nderi
Blog. Write.Heal

--

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

One Spring Night plays in the background as I struggle to come with article titles that I care about. I want to write again, but don’t care enough about any topic. At least that’s how I feel. I have felt this way since April, and words continue to fail me.

June and July felt like I was anchored to the sea bed and no matter how much I tried to pull away and swim, the anchor was too strong. I struggled with the depression of being confined to a studio apartment as days fed into each other.

I lost my grandmother in August. Although the migraines and the heaviness lifted in August, I felt guilty of fading memories of time spent with grandma. September and October were focused on healing the parts of my soul and psyche that lost interest in writing and any creative pursuits.

We’re now in November, and 7 days into #NaNoWriMo. This is the first draft in my personal writing come back and reads like a page from my diary.

Going through burnout and trying to come back is daunting. Writing and I are going through a phase where we have to work and spice up the relationship.

Hopefully, this time she’ll be kind to me.

--

--