Is Medium’s Endgame Coming Sooner Than Expected?

Manuel
Blogging and Web Cultures
3 min readMay 7, 2019

Medium as a platform itself is a solid start for any budding blogger out there. Medium however as a long-term platform for self-proclaimed bloggers is, I think the wrong route for such authors. Medium since I have started using it has been a solid choice for me personally. Someone who isn’t too interested in using a blogging platform for the long run but more for a short-term type of situation. Medium has been that happy medium for me, it has allowed me to effortlessly share my thoughts and writing with the world without having to put too much work or effort behind the structuration or format of my post. The simplicity behind medium is what really had me hooked. Not having to worry about how to format my stories or having to insert and crop pictures or fonts was a worry I didn’t think I had going into this experience.

The simple format of medium to me seemed to capture my attention more then other sites or personal blogs. Medium as a setup was clear cut with no gimmicks therefore to me that aided in the writing style of the actual pieces on the site. Taking away the power to personalize and style ones blog space only inspires the blogger to better focus on his or her writing in my opinion.However this does fall down as being a double edged sword of sorts. While yes keeping the style simple for everyone it also almost makes all the other articles posted on medium somewhat bleed into one another.

By this I mean that when reading through the site you become desensitized to what you’re reading it’s almost like the YouTube vortex. Again meaning once you start on a specific path or mission you wind up reading or watching conspiracy theories in the dead of night.

Being able to break up your own blog posts with at least a design or a flashy pop of color helps the reader possibly distinguish between different articles, and also possibly again entices a reader to continue reading your piece. This isn’t exactly the same situation with all blog posts and all readers. Medium in itself is such a simplistic site which is why its so enticing to new readers.

Screen cap of the simplistic tools on medium

We as consumers and readers in general are constantly being bombarded with ads and links to other sites. However what’s setting medium apart from most other sites is the lack of ads and linkage to other pages. It’s almost shocking sometimes to see a blank white page with writing on the internet without the other added distractions.

Example of the stark white background that importantly is lacking in distracting ads.

When I worked on my own blogpost I found it somewhat difficult on how to break up my own posts. Personally I found it hard to try and figure out exactly I wanted to arrange my posts because in the back of mind I always had that thought of what will people think when they read my blog. As I would write I would constantly think back to what my look is and what direction I want to go in but then I would obviously remember medium is simplistic in its design so I shouldn’t have to worry about that.

Overall I wouldn’t consider myself a true and through blogger. What I did throughout this course is technically blogging in a sense but after I am not entirely sure if I will keep going with the whole blogging idea. While I enjoyed the concept of blogging and feeling somewhat accomplished when I got the response I was looking for, overall I didn’t feel like it is something I need in life if that makes sense. While I enjoyed being able to share my perspective and interest with others I don’t think that blogging will be a long term project for me.

--

--