What is a Blog?

Steph in Wonderland
Blogging Butterfly
Published in
2 min readNov 4, 2016

Perhaps you’ve stumbled on this site and now you’re wondering “what is a blog and why does she want me to have one so much?” This post is here to answer that question!

If we ask Google, we can find the following definition:

blog

/bläɡ/

noun

a regularly updated website or web page, typically one run by an individual or small group, that is written in an informal or conversational style.

So what does that have to do with you?

Well, for me personally, blogging had changed my outlook on life. I was in a place where I was content, but feeling really stuck. I want sure at all how I was going to get out of it.

I’d been wanting to start a blog for a long time just to have something else to do that kept my mind off of the things in my life that I had no control over. What I didn’t realize was that it would actually put some control back in my own hands.

I finally feel like I’m doing something that puts ME back in the driver’s seat, so to speak. Started my blog was like the first step to freedom. I can write whatever I want, whenever I want, on my own terms. I’m not limited only to producing what other people like. While of course, that helps, but if you’re constantly chasing the next big thing, it really gets old. With a blog, I can do that a few times and then keep going with whatever I want.

Blogging can be more than just a “regularly updated website written in an informal tone.” It can be your outlet, your voice, your foundation for a new business, or a way to give back to a community. It can be whatever you want. The best part is that you can be heard by thousands of people. You just have to put in the work.

What is a blog to you? Are you already a blogger?

If you’re not, stay tuned for our 10 reasons why you need to start today. If you’re afraid it’s pointless because “you have nothing to write about” or that “there’s so much out there already,” I’ve got plans for you too. There are no excuses!

Ready to get started but aren’t sure how? We’ll soon have quick-start instructions and an online course just for you! They’ll be absolutely free and provide you with every step you need to start today.

What is a blog?

Originally published at Blogging Butterfly.

--

--

Steph in Wonderland
Blogging Butterfly

3D artist. Sometimes graphic designer. Not funny. Blogger at https://bloggingbutterfly.com. I share new blog posts that help people become better bloggers.