Medium Writing Tips

Medium vs. WordPress

Should writers use Medium or create their own self hosted blog with WordPress?

Casey Botticello
Blogging Guide
Published in
16 min readNov 14, 2019

--

medium vs wordpress, medium wordpress comparison, medium reasons to use, medium create free blog, publish blog on medium
Source: Casey Botticello of Blogging Guide

Reader Question:

Should I use Medium to publish my blog or should I create a self hosted blog through a platform, such as WordPress?

Answer:

Whether a blogger is just starting out, or is at the stage where they are finally starting to gain some traction among readers, virtually all will consider the age old question — Should I use Medium to publish my blog or should I create a self hosted blog through a platform, such as WordPress?

I’ll start by saying that there is no definitive answer for everyone, so if you are looking for me to pick one of the two options, and discredit the other, this article is not for you.

If you want to learn about the advantages and disadvantages of each platform, learn more about what each really entail, and read a…

--

--

Casey Botticello
Blogging Guide

🚀 Founder of BloggingGuide.com | Entrepreneur & Blogger | Join 100,000+ creators & learn how to make money writing online ➜ bloggingguide.substack.com