I Probably Won’t Write On Medium Next Year, But It’s Not Because I Hate It Here

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer
3 min readJan 19, 2022

--

Photo by Chris Spiegl on Unsplash

Before everybody freaks out, let’s get one thing straight..

Medium.com is a huge money-maker for me.

It’s a great platform to write on.

I still make solid money from the partner program every month, and I enjoy the amount of email subscribers that I generate here every single day.

But I’m probably not going to write on Medium in 2023, for better or for worse. Let’s discuss why.

I Can Make More Money Elsewhere

Okay, so I am NOT saying “I can’t make decent money on Medium.”

I’m saying “I can make more money elsewhere.”

That’s it. Okay?

I can still generate a couple thousand dollars with Medium every single month, no problem. But my business is doing so well elsewhere that it makes more sense for me to spend more time on other platforms.

Now, if Medium decided to get their act together and revert their algorithm back to what it was in 2019, they might be attractive enough for me to stay.

As presently constructed, however, I can do better elsewhere.

--

--

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer

Travel blogger. 30 years old. Currently in Mexico. Subscribe to my Substack: https://mindofawriter.substack.com/