Nobody Cares That You Made $10,000 From Writing

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer
4 min readNov 30, 2020

--

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

“How I Made $39,589 From Writing In January”

Me, seeing this in my inbox: *EYE ROLL*

I’ve written my fair share of articles like that before. You know, the ones where I talk about how much money I’ve made or how much money I will make from writing.

The one thing every author who writes this type of article doesn’t realize is one simple thing:

Nobody cares.

Nobody cares that you made $10,000. We don’t need to know the details of your income, bro. Why do you need to shove how much you made in front of everybody’s face? Suppose you were walking to work and some random guy popped up in front of you yelling,

“HEY GUYS BY THE WAY I MADE $10,000 LAST MONTH”

You’d likely think about macing him.

So why do we shower people with attention when they write headlines with a similar message?

We certainly don’t care about how much money somebody made. We care about something else.

What we care about is how we can do it.

We’re not reading your story to pat you on the back for making $10,000 in a month. We’re reading your story to figure out how we can steal your…

--

--

Tom Kuegler
The Mind Of A Writer

Travel blogger. 30 years old. Currently in Mexico. Subscribe to my Substack: https://mindofawriter.substack.com/