If a Foodie Trust it….I Must Eat it

Steven Blakley
Blogging the World
Published in
4 min readApr 7, 2016

First, just say the word foodie out loud. You can not tell me it is not one of the more fun words to say f-o-o-d-i-e. A foodie according to our good friends at Merriam, is a person who take an avid interest in food and enjoys and cares about the culture of good a lot. So to keep it plain and simple a foodie is a person who is addicted to food. Traditionally, I would say a foodie is a food critic, and takes the opportunity to sample and review as much food as they can. Today, I would say this person is different, and it does not take the intense analytical skills of a food critic to become one.

I, myself, like the modern foodie who just likes to try good food. Recently, I went to NYC and reviewed the foodie culture there. These people are everywhere. If you see someone that receives the food they ordered then turns the plate in 4 to 5 different directions to take pictures, you may have spotted a potential foodie. Also, a modern foodie will indulge in food at one particular restaurant, so you may see a customer ordering food enough for like 8 people, but in actuality they are just sampling as much as they can get. Now while all the food I was able to a sample, from Columbian dining in downtown Brooklyn to some of the best Jerk Chicken in downtown Manhattan, was very good, it also hit the pockets hard!

Ainsworth Mac n Cheese Burger (The AinsWorth)
Chocolate Chip &Cinnamon Brioches (Levain Bakery)
Jerk Chicken (Mamas Jerk Chicken)

This could be the case just because NYC is considered a high dollar city, but still I think I want to give the foodie a new wave of life. A foodie should be able to buy cheap food, but the best food. I should be able to take $40 dollars and try a plethora of food, but instead I was limited to approximately three meals. This is a sad, but true story. But let’s get back to the real conversation, what is a foodie?

On a blog named, foodie underground they mentioned the top types of foodies, and I decided to add my own twist:

First: “Oh, don’t go anywhere guys I can cook” This foodie actually cooks all of their food, so more just interested in their own culinary skills.

Second: “I will try anything from anywhere” This foodie is knowledgeable about all different types of food, and is not scared to try any foods.

Third: “This is not savory enough for my pallet” This foodie is just one step away from being a critic, who seems to always have a negative outlook on the food they taste. Then they always will end it with “Well it was worth the taste”

Fourth: “Nobody eat yet! Let me Instagram, Tweet, Pinterest, Periscope this” This foodie is all about the shot and the visuals, so similar to the person I mentioned early who took so many shots.

Fifth: “Where is the food?” This foodie is strictly for the food, and maybe even have like a niche of food they are particular fond of like BBQ, Hispanic, or festival food.

I personally fit in line with the fifth foodie “Where is the food” because it just gives me all the free range that I really like. I enjoy food, and I enjoy the experience that comes with eating it. I understand why it is such a staple part of the culture of human beings. After reading this you may have been inspired to become a foodie. To start you on your journey, you should follow some foodies, one of the main foodies I follow is Action Bronson. I would encourage you to look at his show and adventures — Action Bronson’s food adventures. I hope to see you out taking pictures of your food, and making the foodie culture grow.

Action Bronson (Munchies)

--

--