Vague predictions on blogging and my future use of this site

Jacob Scholl
Blogging the World
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2016

It’s really still up in the air.

The future of blogging? I think it’s bright, booming and full of potential.

Personally, I see blogging as less of a generational fad and more as a push that will continue to keep going along with the Internet. Honestly, I think the two go hand-in-hand. Both have grown to unimaginable levels and continue to expand, getting faster and stronger as the years go on. Blogging is a way for people to express themselves and share their thoughts, hopes and aspirations. The Internet itself is a cultural and technological advance that will only continue in years to come. Both blogging and the Internet will continue to grow exponentially in years to come. At least I think so.

Or, maybe not.

With the invention of other things like Twitter, which is basically blogging on a micro level, longform blogs could be a thing of the past in a decade or two, but I seriously doubt it.

I feel that both the deep levels of personal and public information expressed in blogs are far too intricate to be explained in just 140 characters over Twitter. Blogging reflects people’s deepest feelings and allows people to share exactly what they feel without any limitations of space (unlike Twitter). In this time of expansion as blogs move forward, there’s really no telling which platforms will survive and which will fail. I do think that most of the big platforms, like Medium and Wordpress, will survive in the long haul. However, I can almost guarantee you that more effective and innovative blogging platforms will start to spring up and gain popularity. There is a chance that these platforms could overtake the big ones now, but I believe that there is no way that these websites will completely die out. The better question is, will I still be using Medium in the future? I’m really not sure. I almost get the feeling that I may be attracted to one of the newer blogging platforms that has yet to come out, just because my future job will probably involve staying up to date on the newest and latest trends in the industry.

Will I continue to blog on Medium after this class is over? Once again, I’m not sure. Like I said earlier, I realized that Medium probably isn’t the best website (in my opinion) to display a portfolio due to its plain layout and lack of creative capabilities. I feel that combining my portfolio and blog into one would be the smartest use of my time and efforts, and its for this reason that, at least for right now, I don’t see myself using Medium a whole lot in the near future.

--

--