NgColombia: Interview with speaker Sherry List

The Yuxi Blog
TheYuxiBlog
Published in
3 min readAug 8, 2018
  1. πŸ…° What is it that you like the most about Angular?

In my case, of course the community. It’s so welcoming and inclusive. On the other hand, I work at a bank, we have many projects where many developers work on the same code base and because of the high number of consultants, we often have change in team members. As we know Angular is an opinionated framework which is a huge advantage in our case. Because in Angular world there is always is one solution for fx Routing, Forms, … so no need to learn loads of 3rd party libraries.

2. ✈️ Why did you apply as a speaker for NgColombia?

I happen to know Juan through Angular community. He is simply amazing!!! Last October I also gave a short talk via Hangout at Angular Medellin. I am super excited to meet you all over there! It’s going to be my first time not only in Colombia but also in Latin America! 🀩

3. πŸ’Ύ Why did you become a developer?

Well of course just like most other developers I only played games on the computer when I was a child, but I was always fascinated to see what my older cousins did with computers (they were programmers). At some point my mom registered me at a computer course during summer school and I loved it! I think that was the beginning 😎

4. πŸ₯‡ What do you feel more proud of in your career?

Well, I can easily switch my role at the company and adapt to the new role and quickly pick up new skills (Soft skills and Technical skills) which is needed in the new role.

5. πŸ’» What is your current tech stack? (editors, OS, laptop)

At home I have one MacBook pro (2011) and one MackBook 2018. At work I have a Lenovo with Windows 2007! True! I work at Bank πŸ˜‰ As for the editor I use VSCode

6. πŸ“€ What is your current favourite artist/song/band?

Well it so depends on my mood 😜 I generally love to listen to Progressive Rock, Soft Rock and Folk. But my all time favourite bands/singers are: Pink Floyd, Steven Wilson, David Bowie, Leonard Cohen. I’m super excited to go to Roger Waters concert on August 11.

7. 🚴 What do you do in your leisure time?

I love photography. Mostly from nature but I also like street photography.

8. πŸ› What is your favourite (and least favourite) food?

In general, I like sour and spicy food! 🌢🌢🌢 For sure not big fan of anything sweet! I know it sounds weird but it’s true πŸ˜‰ Never tried any Colombian food! Looking forward to try it! I hope I can find nice Vegan cafes in Medellin 🀞

9. ✌️ Why should developers learn Angular?

Why not? It’s a nice, powerful framework. Has a great and passionate community, where people produce loads of learning materials and above all people are so open and welcoming and always ready to helpπŸ’–

10. πŸ‘¨β€πŸ‘©β€πŸ‘§β€πŸ‘¦ What are your views on inclusion and diversity in technology?

Well, I see a lot of efforts in recent years to hire people from different backgrounds in Tech (which is great). Also as Women Techmaker lead I see a lot of efforts in encouraging more women to join Tech industry. Unfortunately what I don’t see is much of efforts to keep them in Tech industry. Many of them leave after few years of trying to fit in. To feel included. In my opinion we need to have more programs to focus in helping companies to make their workspace more inclusive.

I am personally trying to either build or help others to build inclusive communities or conferences.

Buy your tickets NOW: ww.ngcolombia.com β˜…

--

--

The Yuxi Blog
TheYuxiBlog

We are a tech company with 13 years of experience that provides digital solutions to help you solve your business challenges! Contact us business@yuxiglobal.com